![]() |
|
|||
|
OK, let's look at this another way. This wasn't a 1+1 situation as described in BillyMac's case reference regarding incorrect instructions from an official on a 1+1 - not even remotely close.
1. Per the OP's situation as described, A1 was awarded 2 free throws. 2. Per 7-2-a, the ball becomes dead when it is apparent that a free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. It's automatically dead - there is nothing that requires an official's whistle. 3. Now let's look at 5-1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through. As the ball was immediately dead after A1's miss on the first FT attempt per 7-2-a, B1 can't possibly score because it is not a goal per 5-1. The correct ruling is to disallow/cancel the "goal" by B1 and line everyone up for A1's 2nd attempt.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! Last edited by TimTaylor; Wed Feb 17, 2016 at 02:48am. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correct that error | wanja | Basketball | 6 | Thu Sep 16, 2010 01:03pm |
| Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct | cford | Basketball | 15 | Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am |
| Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
| Correct a "rules" error? | BayStateRef | Basketball | 15 | Wed Jan 03, 2007 09:52am |
| correct uncorrectable error? | lookin2improve | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 01:03pm |