![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 4-20 ART. 3 . . . The free throw ends when the try is successful, when it is certain the try will not be successful, when the try touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead. So, the FT ends when it comes off the rim, not later as you imply. As for the rules support for the fact that team control ends when the FT is released: Rule 4-37 ART. 1 . . . Rebounding is an attempt by any player to secure possession of the ball following a try or tap for goal. In a rebounding situation there is no player or team control. The rule you reference about the try and control only referring to 2 or 3 point shots and not FTs is just wrong. It says a "FIELD" goal is an attempt to score 2 or 3 points, not that a try is an attempt to score 2 or 3. Rule 4-12 says that team control continues until a try or tap is in flight without regard to whether it is a FT or a FG. Then there is the definition of a FT: Rule 4-20 ART. 1 . . . A free throw is the opportunity given a player to score one point by an unhindered try for goal from within the free-throw semicircle and behind the free-throw line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2016 NCAA Rule Change: OBS - "About to Receive" vs. "In the act of Catching" | teebob21 | Softball | 15 | Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:16pm |
| Player/Team Control during "simultaneous possession"? | MechanicGuy | Basketball | 10 | Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:30pm |
| Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? | fiasco | Basketball | 46 | Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am |
| Correctable Error -- Change of Possession Clause | referee99 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 25, 2010 01:04am |
| Definition of "possession of the ball" | Centerfield9 | Softball | 5 | Wed Jul 01, 2009 08:08pm |