The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 06:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Farmland west of Chicago
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to BK47
yes JJ, that is BU's call.

In a normal rotation, R1 on second & R2 on first, less than two outs, the rotation is: fly ball to the outfield in the "V" PU goes up to third for the tag up of R1 while BU watches for catch and R2.

In your situation, a fly ball to F9 going towards the line, PU should yell out to BU "I've got the line". That tells BU that rotation is OFF and he has both tag ups. If it was F9 going towards center then BU has the catch and rotation is still on.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 06:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
yes JJ, that is BU's call.

In a normal rotation, R1 on second & R2 on first, less than two outs, the rotation is: fly ball to the outfield in the "V" PU goes up to third for the tag up of R1 while BU watches for catch and R2.

In your situation, a fly ball to F9 going towards the line, PU should yell out to BU "I've got the line". That tells BU that rotation is OFF and he has both tag ups. If it was F9 going towards center then BU has the catch and rotation is still on.
By reversing the runners, you've screwed this up. R2 means 'runner on 2B' (except in the idiotic FED notation that nobody else uses or should use). When JM says BU has the retouch for R2, that's what he means.

When I pregame this situation with my partner, we always give BU the tag by R2. Whether the ball is in the 'V' or to F9 moving toward the line, it makes more sense for PU to take R1's tag (if any).

The only issues are: (a) if PU is on the line for catch/no catch by F9, then he won't be at 3B for a play there on R2; and (b) if PU is on the other line for catch/no catch by F7, then he won't be able to see R1 tag.

Still, I like this mechanic better here. I agree that communication is essential to getting everything covered, but that's true in general and not unique to this situation.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
yes JJ, that is BU's call.

In a normal rotation, R1 on second & R2 on first, less than two outs, the rotation is: fly ball to the outfield in the "V" PU goes up to third for the tag up of R1 while BU watches for catch and R2.

In your situation, a fly ball to F9 going towards the line, PU should yell out to BU "I've got the line". That tells BU that rotation is OFF and he has both tag ups. If it was F9 going towards center then BU has the catch and rotation is still on.
1) JJ didn't say that PU had the catch/no-catch call.

2) BU has the tag-up at second whether PU has the catch/no-catch call.

3) What changes is any play on R2 at third -- BU has this if PU is "on-the line" -- but that wasn't the play in question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
R1 on second & R2 on first...
Please -- just R1, R2. The FED way of identifying baserunners is a needle in the balloon of understanding.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Farmland west of Chicago
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to BK47
well excuse me byron for "screwing this up". is this better:

BU has retouch of second base.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 03:02pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
well excuse me byron for "screwing this up". is this better:

BU has retouch of second base.
No. Repeat after me:

"BU has retouch of R2."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
well excuse me byron for "screwing this up".
Sorry, no offense intended. I've noticed more people using the annoying FED terminology (they screwed up R1, R2, etc.), and I allowed my annoyance into that post. I didn't mean any personal attack in addressing your error.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a situation bfiii12 Baseball 18 Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:09am
What do you do in this situation? BlitzkriegBob Softball 1 Mon May 28, 2007 12:03pm
NCAA Mechanics, NFHS Rules/Mechanics InvisibleRef Basketball 4 Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06am
2-man Mechanics, run-down situation WestMichBlue Softball 2 Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:26am
2-man Mechanics, bunt situation WestMichBlue Softball 13 Mon Mar 08, 2004 01:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1