The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 26, 2009, 10:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 95
On the Jim Evans balk video, he specifically shows this play and proclaims it legal. I will go with Jim Evans ............. it's legal
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 26, 2009, 10:46pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup View Post
Any good one liners to handle situations like this?
I don't think I would try to use a one liner in this situation but if I did it might be something like "I can think of a fair number of former major league players who now announce games on TV and they are very often just wrong on rules."
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 12:11am
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup View Post
Any good one liners to handle situations like this?
Coach, as soon as I get home I'm going to read the rules. It'll be a first for both of us.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup View Post
................. R1, R2 & R3, with F3 playing back, not holding the runner on.

When the catcher puts the signs down, F3 breaks toward the bag (timing play) and F1 throws the ball to him five feet away from 1B.

Any good one liners to handle situations like this?
First off, "one line-ing" your way through an argument can backfire on you.

Second, you have to be careful on a play like this. F3 playing behind the runner and breaks to 1st on the signs. If F1 steps and throws to the bag, this is not a balk! F1 accomplished what he was supposed to do, regardless of where F3 is.

In this case, however, as stated, F1 did not throw the ball to the bag.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 07:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
It also says "and is obviously not making an attempt at retiring the runner at first base". In this situation "F3 breaks toward the bag (timing play) and F1 throws the ball to him five feet away from 1B."
5 feet is pretty near the effin bag. I agree with those that have "no balk" on the play as described.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
And moving toward it as well. IOW, 5 feet and closing. By the time you call the balk, he's on top of it.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[
Quote:
QUOTE=njdevs00cup;597920]


When the catcher puts the signs down, F3 breaks toward the bag (timing play) and F1 throws the ball to him five feet away from 1B. I call a balk warning. "Coach Dad" questions the call at the time, citing his AAA experience and the fact that I did not warn the other pitcher when he did the same type of play to 3B (this made me seriously question this guy's credentials).
The coach no matter who has a right to question this balk warning because IT WAS NOT a balk. I realize in many of these Op's we WHTBT but I agree with Bob as F3 was breaking TOWARDS the bag and was MAKING a play. As another said the authorities would have NO balk.

Therefore, be careful when you say


Any good one liners to handle situations like this

Because you were wrong.

Now the next part.

Quote:
In between innings, "Coach Dad" and his posse of five other coaches (quickly fixed that) come out and say this is a legal play.
You DO NOT ALLOW this PERIOD. At the Plate Conference make certain the HEAD coach is present and HE is the ONLY one you will speak to. You said you fixed it so hopefully the only conversation you had was with the head coach.

Summary: Study up on the balk rules and if you can get the Jim Evans balk Video. From what you describe the aforementioned play is LEGAL and the coach without saying all the "other stuff' has a beef.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth

Last edited by PeteBooth; Mon Apr 27, 2009 at 01:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I made a post this morning in this thread. What happened to it?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I made a post this morning in this thread. What happened to it?
Was this it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
In between innings, "Coach Dad" and his posse of five other coaches (quickly fixed that) come out and say this is a legal play.

Any good one liners to handle situations like this?

"No it isn't. Rule 8.05."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
It's still there

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
F3 was making a play. I also have nothing...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 243
First off, I will order the Evans video as recommended.

Second, I want to clarify this. Can F1 throw to F3 in any position, from the rubber, if 1B is occupied? I was always taught that the throw needs to go directly to the bag in this situation. To clarify my initial post, F3's initial movement (two or three steps) was to 1B. He received the throw in a stationary position, no longer moving toward the bag.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 09:53pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup View Post
First off, I will order the Evans video as recommended.

Second, I want to clarify this. Can F1 throw to F3 in any position, from the rubber, if 1B is occupied? I was always taught that the throw needs to go directly to the bag in this situation. To clarify my initial post, F3's initial movement (two or three steps) was to 1B. He received the throw in a stationary position, no longer moving toward the bag.
F1 can throw the ball over the top of the bag while F3 is looking out into CF, not a balk, he threw directly to the base. F1 can throw to F3 who is moving toward the bag, and catches the ball 5 feet from the bag, if this is a legitimate "timing play" attempt at tagging R1 off the bag. F1 can throw to F3 who is 5 feet from the bag and stationary if F3 can then attempt a tag on R1.

5' is so close a putout attempt is easily possible. A timing play is just that, fool the offensive player into taking a big lead and then time a pickoff and F3 moviong toward the bag for a catch to get a tag out near the bag.

Evans video shows a couple of good timing plays, and then some that are not.

Last edited by DG; Mon Apr 27, 2009 at 09:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2009, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup View Post
First off, I will order the Evans video as recommended.

Second, I want to clarify this. Can F1 throw to F3 in any position, from the rubber, if 1B is occupied? I was always taught that the throw needs to go directly to the bag in this situation. To clarify my initial post, F3's initial movement (two or three steps) was to 1B. He received the throw in a stationary position, no longer moving toward the bag.
The Key is this

Was F3 making a play? As other said 5 ft with F3 moving is a deceptive move on the part of the defense - perfectly legal

here's a typcial balk move when F1 is throwing to F3.

Good Lefty up at the plate - Very slow runner on first base F3 is now playing WAY off the bag say 12 feet or so.

We all know or should know that when F1 is on the pitcher's plate he cannot feint a throw to first base. Sometimes F1 forgets the situation and turns to pick-off R1. He KNOWS he cannot feint there so he simply tosses the ball to F3 who is No -WHERE near the bag or making a play.

As Umpires we should know certain situations even though we are NOT playing anymore as IMO that helps us use our judgement better. While it's not a pre-requisite to have actually played baseball to become an umpire it helps

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2009, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 194
Here's a one liner for you:

Coach: "Yeah, I was in AAA two years."
You: "Where were you?"
Coach: "New Orleans".
You: "Cool. When we were on vacation down there the car wouldn't start. I called you guys and you sent a mechanic right out!"



I had a h.s. coach recently tell us immediately at the plate conference he played at an SEC school. I told him I know the coach there, asked his name again, and told him I would tell the coach I met him. He kicked the dirt and admitted he "never really made the traveling roster". (No one-liner necessary!)

Last edited by cardinalfan; Tue Apr 28, 2009 at 09:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
On Friday, I had a coach tell me that he played pro ball for four different organizations, and that he's never seen a player ejected for doing a pop-up slide and knocking a fielder down.

I said, "Well, that's great. What's your experience with high school baseball? That's what we're playing here."

Quote:
Originally Posted by cc6 View Post
Tim_C would say to never cite a specific rule in an argument.
Why not? It ends arguments almost instantly and prevents subsequent arguments. Follow that advice if you like prolonged and frequent arguments. A quick partial quotation of the wording of an applicable rule has always resulted in a quick and favorable end to an argument.

Last edited by Kevin Finnerty; Tue Apr 28, 2009 at 10:49am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach goes after visiting coach texaspaul Basketball 2 Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:17pm
Bad coach, good coach BuggBob Softball 21 Wed Jul 11, 2007 06:54pm
Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits jritchie Basketball 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:02pm
LBR [According to Coach] whiskers_ump Softball 1 Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:30pm
Is he a coach? coach mb Basketball 12 Mon Mar 17, 2003 01:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1