[
Quote:
QUOTE=njdevs00cup;597920]
When the catcher puts the signs down, F3 breaks toward the bag (timing play) and F1 throws the ball to him five feet away from 1B. I call a balk warning. "Coach Dad" questions the call at the time, citing his AAA experience and the fact that I did not warn the other pitcher when he did the same type of play to 3B (this made me seriously question this guy's credentials).
|
The coach no matter who has a right to question this balk warning because IT WAS NOT a balk. I realize in many of these Op's we WHTBT but I agree with Bob as F3 was breaking TOWARDS the bag and was MAKING a play. As another said the authorities would have NO balk.
Therefore, be careful when you say
Any good one liners to handle situations like this
Because you were wrong.
Now the next part.
Quote:
In between innings, "Coach Dad" and his posse of five other coaches (quickly fixed that) come out and say this is a legal play.
|
You DO NOT ALLOW this PERIOD. At the Plate Conference make certain the HEAD coach is present and HE is the ONLY one you will speak to. You said you fixed it so hopefully the only conversation you had was with the head coach.
Summary: Study up on the balk rules and if you can get the Jim Evans balk Video. From what you describe the aforementioned play is LEGAL and the coach without saying all the "other stuff' has a beef.
Pete Booth