![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
If it was supposed to be an infield fly and I just forgot to call it, then, yes, I'd call it retroactively. If it wasn't supposed to be an infield fly, then the play stands.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
My reply would be: "Well, I wasn't sure, Now I'm sure, I'm calling it retroactively." Just looking for other thoughts...I often work adult league 1-man.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
"You're right. It was poor mechanics. But, it was the right call."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I once had the offensive manager come out to argue this very play. When I politely explained to him that I was making the ruling to protect his runner(s), he commented, "Oh," and walked away. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It was the right call, and nobody argued. But, as a fan who was sitting in the stands rooting for the offense, I was upset (not upset with the umps, just upset in general) that a rule designed to protect the offense actually screwed my team.
|
|
|||
|
The rule didn't pop up to first with two on and one out, the batter did.
|
|
|||
|
Throughout this thread several poster's keep coming back to it was a ball that should have been caught with ordinary effort....maybe so...,or I would call it at it's apex. What seems to be left out is the judgement portion of the rule, as well as the judgement of the umpires on the field fighting the elements, living it, not sitting home with a cold one watching the game. So what I gather from some, is that simply because the ball was in the infield, it should have been caught with ordinary effort. That's wrong. Take this play.....bases loaded, one out, high fly ball is hit near the first base line, 20 feet up the line from the plate. Catcher can't find it, as the ball hits it's apex, it's spotted and F1, 2, and 3, rush in, with the first baseman diving unsucessfully. The ball lands and stops in fair territory. All runners advanced one base, with R3 scoring. If you employ the addage of it should have been caught, so it's an IFF your wrong. There is clearly no ordinary effort in this play. Something some need to add into their thought process, when calling an IFF is, is there a fielder comfortably under the ball to make that catch? If not, you very well may not have an IFF. Weather can and does very often come into play when deciding to call an IFF or not. Including the sun.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) | FUBLUE | Softball | 30 | Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am |
| You called what? | loners4me | Basketball | 6 | Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:10pm |
| Infield Fly called, ball drops, fielders run | clevbrown | Softball | 11 | Fri May 25, 2007 10:22am |
| What would you have called? | NYBAREF | Basketball | 11 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 07:16pm |
| Infield fly even if not called | shipwreck | Softball | 2 | Sun Aug 11, 2002 04:24pm |