The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 769
Infield fly not called

Believe it was the 5th inning in game 5 WS. Wicked fly ball to right side of infield because of rain and wind. Caught with much effort by infielder. Announcers mention "no infield fly signaled" and then pontificate on "If he intentionally dropped it they could have gotten a DP". Did I hear right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Yep. You heard right. But what would you expect from these announcers. To their credit, they did come on after the commercial and read the rule, waiting until the end to say “with ordinary effort". Great non-call.

I really liked the sounds of the game when U1 came over and told the HP that the foul line was wiped out in front of 1st base on that last slide and the GK should fix it. He said, and I paraphrase, "that's your call up to first so we should get it fixed so you won't have any problem."
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Believe it was the 5th inning in game 5 WS. Wicked fly ball to right side of infield because of rain and wind. Caught with much effort by infielder. Announcers mention "no infield fly signaled" and then pontificate on "If he intentionally dropped it they could have gotten a DP". Did I hear right?
Which would have been impossible since the batter was standing on first base when the ball was missed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 769
Which was impossible since if no infield fly was called an intentionally dropped fly ball or line drive is a dead ball and batter is out and runners return.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 11:39pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Wind is a factor in whether to call IFF, sun is not. I guess under the conditions, wind and downpour combined are also a factor...

I remember a game several years ago I was working BU on a windy day, wind coming in from RF, and went out on fly ball to right because I thought it might be a shoe stringer. F4 went out too and wind blew the ball back into infield to about where F4 was before he went out. No IFF was called that day on any plays.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
sun could absolutely be a factor. take the same situation as in game 5, but make it a day game with a bright sun. ball goes up above F4's position and should be a "routine" catch, but he looks up and right into the sun, causing him to move his head away and put his arms up over his head for protection. reading this reaction of the fielder, you no longer have a catch that is about to be made with ordinary effort, you have a fielder that doesn't know where the ball is. you're telling me you're going to call infield fly on that?
__________________
"To dee chowers!!"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 224
Tim Tschida, the first base umpire, covered the IFF situation in the post suspended game interview quite nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
bobby,

I suspect that J/R isn't your favorite rules interpretation source, but they say that wind is a factor in not calling IFF, but sun and natural darkness are not.

In the particular example you site, I think most umpires would have already called the IFF once the ball reached its apex, and before (as I read your description) the fielder began to have trouble.

Last edited by Dave Reed; Wed Oct 29, 2008 at 12:33am. Reason: To make clear to whom this is addressed
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:52pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck View Post
sun could absolutely be a factor. take the same situation as in game 5, but make it a day game with a bright sun. ball goes up above F4's position and should be a "routine" catch, but he looks up and right into the sun, causing him to move his head away and put his arms up over his head for protection. reading this reaction of the fielder, you no longer have a catch that is about to be made with ordinary effort, you have a fielder that doesn't know where the ball is. you're telling me you're going to call infield fly on that?
I played 2B when I played and never dropped an easily catchable ball due to the sun. I also can't remember the last time I saw this happen in a major league game. The sun is not a factor, or should not be a factor in judging IFF on ordinary effort.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 126
Sure Am!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck View Post
sun could absolutely be a factor. take the same situation as in game 5, but make it a day game with a bright sun. ball goes up above F4's position and should be a "routine" catch, but he looks up and right into the sun, causing him to move his head away and put his arms up over his head for protection. reading this reaction of the fielder, you no longer have a catch that is about to be made with ordinary effort, you have a fielder that doesn't know where the ball is. you're telling me you're going to call infield fly on that?
The fielder can protect his eyes from the sun. How are you going to guage the integrity of a player who learns he can just fake the sun in his eyes to get an easy double play?

The characteristics of the batted ball are what I consider when calling an infield fly (along with conforming to the rule, of course). The wind is a physical factor acting on the batted ball, making it move laterally in an unpredictable fashion. A fielder can't be expected to catch a wind deviated fly ball with ordinary effort. His integrity does not matter because we can see the affect the wind is having on the batted ball.

As an aside, the rule is all about protecting the offense.

D
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Which was impossible since if no infield fly was called an intentionally dropped fly ball or line drive is a dead ball and batter is out and runners return.
An intentional drop is called only if the fielder touches the fly ball and then drops it. If he just lets it fall to the ground untouched, he can field it for a double or triple play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
An intentional drop is called only if the fielder touches the fly ball and then drops it. If he just lets it fall to the ground untouched, he can field it for a double or triple play.
Agreed if the umpires determine that it truly wasn't an infield fly.

If the umpirese decide that it should have been an infield fly, then they'll allow the defense only one out. If the defense gets one out on the play (or no outs on the play), then the play stands. If the defense gets two or three outs on the play, then the umpires will declare the batter out and return all the other runners.

Based on what I saw of the play in question, I would have called the infield fly. (To be fair, I didn't see a previousl paly in which a "routine" pop up in the infied was not caught -- that might have changed my judgment on the play in question.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 01:12pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If the defense gets two or three outs on the play, then the umpires will declare the batter out and return all the other runners.
Bob, are you saying that you'd "call IFF after the fact", if the defense gets more than one out?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Based on what I saw of the play in question, I would have called the infield fly. (To be fair, I didn't see a previousl paly in which a "routine" pop up in the infied was not caught -- that might have changed my judgment on the play in question.)
[/QUOTE]

Bob, Jimmy Rollins drop of a routine fly ball "set the stage" for the umpires NOT to invoke the IFR.

Rollins had all kinds of trouble trying to field what would have been a "can of corn" under normal conditions.

Therefore, on the play in question, the IFR was NOT invoked because the condtions had gotten so bad that a normal fly ball was now judged differently.

The interesting question would have been

Suppose the ball was dropped and the defense went on to complete the DP.

Since the umpire judged that the ball could not be caught with ordinary effort, no IFR to invoke and the call would most likely stand. However, the umpires put a run on the Board some 3 innings later in the O's Indians game a couple of years back so anything is possible.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 01:38am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Believe it was the 5th inning in game 5 WS. Wicked fly ball to right side of infield because of rain and wind. Caught with much effort by infielder. Announcers mention "no infield fly signaled" and then pontificate on "If he intentionally dropped it they could have gotten a DP". Did I hear right?
I think he meant let it drop untouched. I hope.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) FUBLUE Softball 30 Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am
You called what? loners4me Basketball 6 Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:10pm
Infield Fly called, ball drops, fielders run clevbrown Softball 11 Fri May 25, 2007 10:22am
What would you have called? NYBAREF Basketball 11 Wed Mar 12, 2003 07:16pm
Infield fly even if not called shipwreck Softball 2 Sun Aug 11, 2002 04:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1