![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now I am picturing [based on the original post] the runner being the winning run and the batter being the final out. If the runnner crosses the plate is the game over ?If the game is over in one case, why would it continue in another ? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
I see no difference in this OP then the following. We have R1 less than 2 outs R1 has a VERY BIG lead and is stealing on the play. Before the ball even gets to B1 R1 is standing on second base. B1 K's and the ball gets by F2. Ruling: Since during the TOP we had R1 and less than 2 outs the batter is out. It doesn't matter that R1 was standing on second base before B1 k'd The KEY question is this: Where is the runner at TOP. For those old timers out there, R3 could have been the late Bob Hayes and not have been able to score BEFORE TOP even bagan. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
FWIW,
I completely agree with PeteBooth's above post. Quote:
Try as I might, I cannot imagine a situation where this could be the case. ![]() JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
PU has declared this the last inning due to darkness R3 is winning run and B4 could be final out Last edited by CO ump; Wed Mar 26, 2008 at 11:09am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() Yeah, I kicked it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
I have to be missing something. ![]() Are we not still going to let R1 keep 2nd base, but now with one or two outs? The 1/2-inning continues. In the OP the game could be over, or tied. |
|
|||
mick,
I believe Pete's point was that, even though the R1 was standing on 2B when the pitch reached the plate, since he had not reached 2B at the "TOP", 1B was still "occupied" by rule, and the batter did NOT become a runner on the third strike not caught. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Yet, I can find no relationship to Time of Pitch and taking a base away from a runner stealing any base, including home plate. In Pete's case the runner keeps his base. That case is exclusively applied to the batter, not to a preceding runner. I do, however, find that a runner touching home plate before there are 3 outs is a score, and that a batter is not out until a third strike.... ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
How about this one We have runners at the corners and one out. B1 hits the ball to F6 who throws the ball to F4 and then on to F3 to complete the DP. In the mean-time R3 already touched the plate WELL before the DP was executed. If we go by your analysis R3's run should count becasue he scored Prior to the third out being registered. IMO, the key is where is the runner at TOP. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Score Out? | soclueless | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm |
Run Score? #2 | BktBallRef | Baseball | 3 | Thu Aug 03, 2006 03:53pm |
How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
Did this run score?I said yes.(m) | dsimp8 | Softball | 6 | Sat Apr 26, 2003 06:13pm |