View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2008, 11:17am
TwoBits TwoBits is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth
The only way R3 would be allowed to score is if R3 crossed the plate PRIOR to F1 starting his pitching motion meaning if R3 crossed the plate BEFORE TOP then he would be allowed to score. In reality virtually impossible to accomplish.

I see no difference in this OP then the following.

We have R1 less than 2 outs

R1 has a VERY BIG lead and is stealing on the play. Before the ball even gets to B1 R1 is standing on second base.

B1 K's and the ball gets by F2.

Ruling: Since during the TOP we had R1 and less than 2 outs the batter is out. It doesn't matter that R1 was standing on second base before B1 k'd

The KEY question is this:

Where is the runner at TOP.

For those old timers out there, R3 could have been the late Bob Hayes and not have been able to score BEFORE TOP even bagan.

Pete Booth
That is the best explanation I've heard yet. I'll relay it to my association. Thanks!
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote