Over on the paid site (http://www.officiating.com) you can read Tim Stevens' explanation of the FED ruling on why a ball lodged in a fielder's glove is to be ruled immediately dead.
BTW: Here's the definition of "lodged" from the Jaksa/Roder manual:
A lodged ball is one that remains on the playing field but has become wedged, stuck, lost, or unreachable If a ball impacts something, stops abruptly and does not fall or roll immediately, it has lodged. (p. 32)
It appears the FED has followed that definition.
|