View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 29, 2004, 01:39pm
jumpmaster jumpmaster is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 461
Send a message via AIM to jumpmaster Send a message via MSN to jumpmaster Send a message via Yahoo to jumpmaster
Quote:
Originally posted by Atl Blue
Outs made prior to the ball becoming lodged stand.

The problem with this interpretation is that the ball is lodged as soon as it goes INTO the glove, not when an umpire sees that the player can't remove it. Therefore, with the above ruling, ANY outs made after the ball is caught would not be allowed because the ball is lodged.

The logical answer is the player that caught the ball, even if the ball is "lodged", can do anything to cause an out (i.e., tag a base, tag a runner, make the catch, etc.). What he can't do is remove the glove and give/toss it to another player, or use the detached glove to tag a runner.

The problem lies not with the person that still has the ball, it lies with what to do when he can't give it to someone else. That's the point where we should stop allowing outs and award bases. Anything prior to trying to remove the ball stands.
I agree with you, but in order to enforce this do we need another interp from the FED? The original interp dealt with the concept of dead ball status after the U discovers the ball is lodged or as we say here "stuck". As Papa C so aptly pointed out, a "stuck" ball is a lodged ball.

A little hillbilly logic based upon the FED interp (in honor of advocus diablo):
lodged ball = dead ball; dead ball = no outs, safes or runs can occur; therefore any out that occurs during a lodged ball are negated, even if the lodged ball is not known at the time the out is called. (A=B, B=C, A=C)
__________________
Alan Roper

Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass
Reply With Quote