View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 28, 2004, 11:16am
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Over on the paid site (http://www.officiating.com) you can read Tim Stevens' explanation of the FED ruling on why a ball lodged in a fielder's glove is to be ruled immediately dead.

BTW: Here's the definition of "lodged" from the Jaksa/Roder manual:

A lodged ball is one that remains on the playing field but has become wedged, stuck, lost, or unreachable If a ball impacts something, stops abruptly and does not fall or roll immediately, it has lodged. (p. 32)

It appears the FED has followed that definition.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote