Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
...a ball lodged in a fielder's glove is to be ruled immediately dead.
BTW: Here's the definition of "lodged" from the Jaksa/Roder manual:
A lodged ball is one that remains on the playing field but has become wedged, stuck, lost, or unreachable If a ball impacts something, stops abruptly and does not fall or roll immediately, it has lodged. (p. 32)
It appears the FED has followed that definition.
|
Carl,
Much of the previous discussion on this topic was concerned specifically with a ball "lodged" in a defensive player's glove and this fact of the ball being lodged was not discovered by the umpire until after plays/tags had been made. What is an umpire to do when this discovery (of a lodged ball) is made after defensive plays have been made and outs called?
Does Tim Stevens address this?