The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 07:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Double Hit?

Another odd play I saw yesterday: first contact of a ball is a pancake that comes back and bounces off the player's head. This was one attempt to play the ball so obviously it is not illegal. The ball however then pops into the air (about 5 feet) and comes back down contacting the same player who is still sprawled on the floor. Again, the player made no other "attempt" at the ball and was laying on the floor from the initial attempt. Do we now have a double hit or nothing?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump View Post
Another odd play I saw yesterday: first contact of a ball is a pancake that comes back and bounces off the player's head. This was one attempt to play the ball so obviously it is not illegal. The ball however then pops into the air (about 5 feet) and comes back down contacting the same player who is still sprawled on the floor. Again, the player made no other "attempt" at the ball and was laying on the floor from the initial attempt. Do we now have a double hit or nothing?
Double hit. Don't read too much into this. They are separate actions of contacting the ball, and would not be considered the same attempt.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 01:58pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Agree with Felix...double hit. Two distinct and separate plays on the ball (even though the ball played her, not the other way around).
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double or False Double? bainsey Basketball 15 Thu Jan 26, 2012 04:11pm
False double, false multiple, double TF, bench personnel TF. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 14 Fri Dec 17, 2010 04:27pm
Double Foul-Double Tech AHSAA_Ref Basketball 3 Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
double or false double mick Basketball 10 Thu Feb 06, 2003 10:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1