The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Double Foul and Double Technical

Using High School Federation Rules:

When a double foul call is made is possession determined by a.) Jump Ball alternate possession arrow or b.) point-of-interruption?

When a double technical call is made is possession determined by a.) Jump Ball alternate possession arrow or b.) point-of-interruption? [obviously after throws are attempted, if necessary]

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Point of interruption in both.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
no free throws in either sitch
__________________
HoopsRefJunior
"If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Point of interruption in both.

Correct, but the OP should note that the POI might be the AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoopsRefJunior View Post
no free throws in either sitch
You could be shooting free throws if, in either case, the double foul happened following a foul which brings free throws. You're right, though, never shoot shots for a double foul.

Now, to answer the OP: It's always POI, and sometimes the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:56pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You could be shooting free throws if, in either case, the double foul happened following a foul which brings free throws. You're right, though, never shoot shots for a double foul.

Now, to answer the OP: It's always POI, and sometimes the arrow.
IOW, POI can be free throws.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by routhless View Post
Using High School Federation Rules:

When a double foul call is made is possession determined by a.) Jump Ball alternate possession arrow or b.) point-of-interruption?
This is a false choice. The POI is sometimes the AP arrow. People who ask this question generally don't know what the POI means.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 06:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,878
Scientific Name ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
People who ask this question generally don't know what the POI means.
Pointus interruptus ???
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 12:16am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Pointus interruptus ???
Freddy will be along to correct you soon enough.

I believe it's Locus Interruptus.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 06:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Freddy will be along to correct you soon enough.

I believe it's Locus Interruptus.
It should be "locus interruptionis" (remember the genitive!), but BillyMac's version is funnier.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy View Post
It should be "locus interruptionis" (remember the genitive!), but BillyMac's version is funnier.

Ciao
True. Plus nobody would know what the hell "LI" referred to.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
False double technical? jritchie Basketball 6 Tue Nov 04, 2008 01:16am
Double Technical after Shooting Foul scboa11 Basketball 2 Sat Feb 09, 2008 01:36pm
Procedure after Blocking Foul and then Double Technical MajorCord Basketball 15 Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:31pm
False Double Technical Foul Mark Dexter Basketball 9 Wed Mar 10, 2004 05:56pm
double technical A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 3 Thu Jun 12, 2003 10:25am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1