The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 11:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
B1 gets a rebound.
A1 forearms B1 to the floor and gets called for pushing.
B1 gets up off the floor 3-4 seconds later and punches A1.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Seems pretty clearly to be a false double. Of course, the second one is flagrant. Does that make a difference? I don't think so, but I could be wrong, obviously.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to stewcall
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
B1 gets a rebound.
A1 forearms B1 to the floor and gets called for pushing.
B1 gets up off the floor 3-4 seconds later and punches A1.
you have a personal foul and a flagrant Technical Foul
Penalize in order of the occurance end in two shots for Team A and the ball at Mid Court
B1 is disqualified
Stew
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 11:11am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Call in the dogs, you've got a fight.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 739
Don't have my books with me, so this is from the hip.

I know for a fact if A1 taunts B1, and then B1 punches A1, BOTH players are ejected, because A1's action caused B1 to throw the punch. This is in the handy-dandy "illustrated" rule book the NFHS has. Maybe some of the big wigs here can tell me if this also relates to a pushing foul by A1. If A1's push "caused" B1 to retaliate and punch, A1 should also be tossed, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 11:21am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Wink

I thought we were just supposed to penalize the second guy. That's what the sportscasters say.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,788
Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
Don't have my books with me, so this is from the hip.

I know for a fact if A1 taunts B1, and then B1 punches A1, BOTH players are ejected, because A1's action caused B1 to throw the punch. This is in the handy-dandy "illustrated" rule book the NFHS has. Maybe some of the big wigs here can tell me if this also relates to a pushing foul by A1. If A1's push "caused" B1 to retaliate and punch, A1 should also be tossed, IMHO.
In general, it wouldn't apply to the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: West Ishpeming, Mi. (U.P.)
Posts: 235
Hey Mick, were you in Mqt. last night? Question sounds like ya were.
__________________
Corduroy pillows are making headlines.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 05:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
Hey Mick, were you in Mqt. last night? Question sounds like ya were.
No, only heard about it, and yes it was the inspiration.


Heresay Sitch:
B1 gets rebound. A1 throws forearm in back of B1's head. B1 turns, pushes back and throws 2 punches. (Interim is vague)Team B players (count unknown) and Head coach rush onto floor to break up fight. Don't know about Team A.
Final result: Push on A1. Nothing else.

Ugly.


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
Hey Mick, were you in Mqt. last night? Question sounds like ya were.
No, only heard about it, and yes it was the inspiration.


Heresay Sitch:
B1 gets rebound. A1 throws forearm in back of B1's head. B1 turns, pushes back and throws 2 punches. (Interim is vague)Team B players (count unknown) and Head coach rush onto floor to break up fight. Don't know about Team A.
Final result: Push on A1. Nothing else.

Ugly.
Nothing else. Wow.

Sounds like a flagrant personal and a flagrant technical to me.

Too many officials want to be Mr. Nice Guy.

TCB!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 10:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
Hey Mick, were you in Mqt. last night? Question sounds like ya were.
No, only heard about it, and yes it was the inspiration.


Heresay Sitch:
B1 gets rebound. A1 throws forearm in back of B1's head. B1 turns, pushes back and throws 2 punches. (Interim is vague)Team B players (count unknown) and Head coach rush onto floor to break up fight. Don't know about Team A.
Final result: Push on A1. Nothing else.

Ugly.
Nothing else. Wow.

Sounds like a flagrant personal and a flagrant technical to me.

Too many officials want to be Mr. Nice Guy.

TCB!
Don't wanna "T" a coach or DQ the players leaving the bench.
The coaches do the ratings in Michigan.
Could be the officials didn't know the rules?
Could be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1