Thread: Double Hit?
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:23pm
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 644
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump View Post
Another odd play I saw yesterday: first contact of a ball is a pancake that comes back and bounces off the player's head. This was one attempt to play the ball so obviously it is not illegal. The ball however then pops into the air (about 5 feet) and comes back down contacting the same player who is still sprawled on the floor. Again, the player made no other "attempt" at the ball and was laying on the floor from the initial attempt. Do we now have a double hit or nothing?
Double hit. Don't read too much into this. They are separate actions of contacting the ball, and would not be considered the same attempt.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote