The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
A disagreement with my partner last night

NFHS rules. My partner is R1 and I am R2. Partner beckons for serve and after the beckoning whistle but before the ball is contacted, the coach for the serving team requests a lineup check as he realizes he has the wrong server. I believe this request should be accepted as the ball is not live until it is contacted by the server. My partner believes this request should be denied, as the serve has already been called for. Who is right ??
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
I think I have to agree with your partner, once the signal for serve has been made everything is "locked" until the ball is contacted. Sure players can move if they catch themselves or what ever, but I don't think we can have a lineup check after the signal for serve. Let's play devils advocate, would you allow a substitution after the signal for serve? Or a libero replacement? Or a time out? Seems to me a lineup check is in line with all of these that are also not allowed once the signal for serve has been given.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 04:49pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Ya gotta know your rules, guys!

Per Rule 8-1-6:
Quote:
... after the first referee’s signal for service, no requests, e.g., time-out, service order, lineup, substitution, libero replacement, etc., may be recognized until after the ball has been served.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 15, 2012, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Ya gotta know your rules, guys!

Per Rule 8-1-6:
The way I read 8-1-6 is that it applies to a reserve and not an original turn of service.

The rules I feel apply are 6-4-6 "A request for the teams serving order may be made by that teams coach or captain while the ball is dead." and 9-3-1 "A live ball is in play from the moment is legally contacted by the correct server until a dead ball occurs". Since the ball was dead when the lineup check was requested, as it was requested before contact by the server, shouldn't this request be allowed ?? I agree that common sense would figure it should not, but I cannot find a rule stating such.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 15, 2012, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by REFANDUMP View Post
The way I read 8-1-6 is that it applies to a reserve and not an original turn of service.

The rules I feel apply are 6-4-6 "A request for the teams serving order may be made by that teams coach or captain while the ball is dead." and 9-3-1 "A live ball is in play from the moment is legally contacted by the correct server until a dead ball occurs". Since the ball was dead when the lineup check was requested, as it was requested before contact by the server, shouldn't this request be allowed ?? I agree that common sense would figure it should not, but I cannot find a rule stating such.
From page 33 of the current NFHS case book (you could replace the word substitution with lineup check, service order, or time-out... they're all requests):

10.1.2 SITUATION: During a set, the coach requests a substitution: (a) before the first referee signals for the serve; (b) after the first referee signals for the serve, but before the server’s contact with the ball; (c) after contact has been made with the serve.

RULING: (a) legal, substitution permitted, (b) and (c) coach’s request is ignored and play continues.

Last edited by bbsbvb83; Sat Sep 15, 2012 at 02:02pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disagreement with partner last night on rule Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Fri Jan 21, 2011 09:55am
Partner learns lesson last night Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:50pm
Partner whistled all night long Back In The Saddle Basketball 18 Fri Dec 03, 2004 01:10am
Crazy Night - Rookie Partner SF Softball 18 Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:47pm
Disagreement with partner! Dennis Nicely Basketball 3 Fri Dec 10, 1999 03:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1