View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 15, 2012, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Ya gotta know your rules, guys!

Per Rule 8-1-6:
The way I read 8-1-6 is that it applies to a reserve and not an original turn of service.

The rules I feel apply are 6-4-6 "A request for the teams serving order may be made by that teams coach or captain while the ball is dead." and 9-3-1 "A live ball is in play from the moment is legally contacted by the correct server until a dead ball occurs". Since the ball was dead when the lineup check was requested, as it was requested before contact by the server, shouldn't this request be allowed ?? I agree that common sense would figure it should not, but I cannot find a rule stating such.
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote