The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 09, 2015, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Situation 1 (Rules): BR interferes with F3 (NFHS)

(I was base umpire) Bases loaded, IFF situation. BR hits a pop-up to F3 near the bag over the baseline. I have my signal up, no verbal, and I did not hear a call from PU. BR interferes with F3's attempt to catch the ball, and is declared out by PU. Defense wants R1 on 3B out as well for interference by a retired player.

I got together with my partner on his request (not sure why, it was 115% his call and I was in no position to help judge the batted ball) and no, he had not yet declared IFF and "I dunno" if the ball was fair or foul at the time of INT. We stayed with the original call of BR out, runners return.

I know we can rectify an uncalled IFF, but we can't apply the retired-runner INT penalty to a player we haven't declared out yet, can we??
If it was an IF (and the "I dunno" may indicate there isn't), the BR is out, by rule. Now the question is of any attached jeopardy created by the delayed call? Since this is a punitive effect and that runner would have been ruled out even if the IF was called in a timely fashion, I see no jeopardy to R1 caused by the umpire's delayed ruling. R2 & R3 returned to 2B & 1B, respectively

Quote:

Situation 2 (Field Mechanics): Runners on corners; stealing 2B (NFHS/NCAA)

Runners on 1B and 3B, I am base umpire. R2 on 1B steals, and F2 throws to 2B. F6 takes the throw, attempts a tag....and all I can see is F6's backside. I had stepped in from C position in a line between 2B and 3B to see a 90-degree angle of R2 coming into the base. I got blocked out like this at least twice this season. This isn't a problem when F4 takes the throw. Should I be moving somewhere else when I read a throw? Should I pay more attention to which fielder is covering?
Knowing who is taking the throw always helps. Assuming it is always going to be F4 is not a good idea. You listen to the chatter. If it is a team that will change up things every now and then, I might even ask the nearest fielder (yes, I know that is frowned upon in some cases). You do the best you can to cover the play. If you need to adjust your approach to the base, don't hesitate to grab a different angle.

Quote:
Situation 3 (Game Management): Who do you eject? (NCAA)
Quote:
Close ball game, I'm on the plate, 4th or 5th inning. Visiting team (on defense) crosses the line by saying a magic word regarding a ball/strike call (Assistant coach: "This guy is horrible!" among the rest of the comments). I warned the dugout that the zone was not up for discussion, and I'd heard all I was going to hear. Assistant coach wants clarification and I walk down to the bench and tell the hitting coach, assistant, and junior assistant coach to knock it off. Next pitch: swinging strike on a rise ball. Someone on the near end of the visiting bench, while I am signalling, with my eyes on the pitcher: "Blue, you sure?"

I know someone needs to leave, but I don't know exactly who that is
because I wasn't looking that way. Who do you think needs ejected?

Edit (forgot to include in OP): Unfortunately, I made a knee-jerk reaction: called time, and emphatically ejected.....someone. I knew I needed to decide quickly, so I walked the 25 feet to the end of the bench and told the AC whoever said "you sure" was done, and if no one said it, he was done. The junior assistant coach got nominated by the AC.
Well, if the manager (HC) cannot manage and control his/her team, guess there is no real reason for he/she/it to be there

Edited to satisfy Dakota's propensity for correct grammar
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Mon May 11, 2015 at 06:36am. Reason: Misread scenario 1
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 09, 2015, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
...Well, if the manager (HC) cannot manage and control his/her team, guess there is no real reason for them to be there
THEM???? Teams now have a plurality of managers?

__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2015, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
you could always "get" the current pitcher...that's always a popular choice.

btw. you should have issued an official warning.

btw #2 .... the term "rabbit ears" is concerning the fans.... we as umpires are responsible for everything said and done ... inside the fences. "and sometimes outside them" in certain scenarios... warmup areas..etc.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Sun May 10, 2015 at 03:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2015, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
R3 is out for INT regardless of IF. If it was an IF (and the "I dunno" may indicate there isn't), the BR is out, by rule. Now the question is of any attached jeopardy created by the delayed call? Since this is a punitive effect and that runner would have been ruled out even if the IF was called in a timely fashion, I see no jeopardy caused by the umpire's delayed ruling.
I'm thinking that calling R3 out here is just misreading the OP? BR interfered not any of the runners.

As to the OP itself, we have this argument every so often and I thought we had settled a few times on: interference before the IF conditions are met nullifies the IF. (That is the ball was not fair yet so it wasn't an infield fly.) I have a vague memory of a rule or caseplay that says this but I'll have to look tomorrow unless someone else remembers the details.
Regardless of that, I'm sure that it cannot be correct that the determining factor in this call is when you call the batter-runner out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I'm thinking that calling R3 out here is just misreading the OP? BR interfered not any of the runners.
You are absolutely correct

Quote:

As to the OP itself, we have this argument every so often and I thought we had settled a few times on: interference before the IF conditions are met nullifies the IF. (That is the ball was not fair yet so it wasn't an infield fly.) I have a vague memory of a rule or caseplay that says this but I'll have to look tomorrow unless someone else remembers the details.
Regardless of that, I'm sure that it cannot be correct that the determining factor in this call is when you call the batter-runner out.
I disagree. The IF is an IF. There is no method of circumventing the rule. You argue that if you cannot determine fair, it cannot be an IF. I argue that unless you can show it is foul, the IF is in effect. The status of a ball in flight when the play becomes dead is determined by its position at that time. A batted ball must be fair or foul, it cannot be an "I dunno"
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I disagree. The IF is an IF. There is no method of circumventing the rule. You argue that if you cannot determine fair, it cannot be an IF. I argue that unless you can show it is foul, the IF is in effect. The status of a ball in flight when the play becomes dead is determined by its position at that time. A batted ball must be fair or foul, it cannot be an "I dunno"
I'm not saying it's an "I dunno". I'm saying that there's no double jeopardy here. The IF is not invoked until the ball becomes fair or foul so the BR is not out until the interference occurs so the BR is not a retired runner interfering with the play. I couldn't find anything exactly on point, but if instead of interfering with a fielder the BR had interfered with the ball then the rule explicitly says one out and dead ball and I don't think the lack of saying that for the fielder changes anything. He may be out twice but he's certainly not two outs.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I'm not saying it's an "I dunno". I'm saying that there's no double jeopardy here. The IF is not invoked until the ball becomes fair or foul so the BR is not out until the interference occurs so the BR is not a retired runner interfering with the play. I couldn't find anything exactly on point, but if instead of interfering with a fielder the BR had interfered with the ball then the rule explicitly says one out and dead ball and I don't think the lack of saying that for the fielder changes anything. He may be out twice but he's certainly not two outs.
Again, I'm going to disagree. The BR is out when s/he hits the ball which becomes an IF. And as previously noted, I agree there is no jeopardy attached, so I don't think we can double it
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 12:22pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If it was an IF (and the "I dunno" may indicate there isn't), the BR is out, by rule. Now the question is of any attached jeopardy created by the delayed call? Since this is a punitive effect and that runner would have been ruled out even if the IF was called in a timely fashion, I see no jeopardy to R1 caused by the umpire's delayed ruling. R2 & R3 returned to 2B & 1B, respectively
I don't think that was his original question. If the batter is out on the declared IFF call, she is now considered a retired batter. Then, she runs into F3 and prevents her from catching the fly ball. Since we now have a retired batter interfering with the fielder's opportunity to field a batted ball, do we invoke FED 8-6-16c and rule the runner closest to home out as well? Unless I missed it, I'm not sure I saw an answer here.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I don't think that was his original question. If the batter is out on the declared IFF call, she is now considered a retired batter. Then, she runs into F3 and prevents her from catching the fly ball. Since we now have a retired batter interfering with the fielder's opportunity to field a batted ball, do we invoke FED 8-6-16c and rule the runner closest to home out as well? Unless I missed it, I'm not sure I saw an answer here.
I agree that seems to be the question.

Let's take the "I dunno" out of it and say it was a fair ball.

BR out by rule, so she is retired at the time of the interference (even if the IF is called late).

If the umpire judges that the fielder had a chance for a live ball appeal on one of the other runners, is the runner closest to home out?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I agree that seems to be the question.

Let's take the "I dunno" out of it and say it was a fair ball.

BR out by rule, so she is retired at the time of the interference (even if the IF is called late).

If the umpire judges that the fielder had a chance for a live ball appeal on one of the other runners, is the runner closest to home out?
I agree with your logic above, if it had been clearly fair. The batter is out when the fair ball reaches its apex, which it did before the INT, making it an easy INT by retired batter.

To me (as OP) the "I dunno" was the key part of the fustercluck. My partner's brain fell out, and when we conferenced, he DID NOT KNOW if the ball was fair or foul. It was like we had Schrödinger's Infield Fly. Before the INT, the runner was either out or still safe, but no one was certain of the state of the ball, and thus the state of the runner.

I did not judge that there was another play to be made on a runner, everyone was tagged up on the popup. Thank goodness: that would have made it even worse.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Mon May 11, 2015 at 02:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
I agree with your logic above, if it had been clearly fair. The batter is out when the fair ball reaches its apex, which it did before the INT, making it an easy INT by retired batter.
I have a number of problems with this.

First, you've created a strange category of balls that are clearly fair as opposed to possibly fair. I can't imagine that anyone writing the rulebook imagined they were creating a situation where an IF if fair had different interference penalties than a regularly IF. Can one retroactively determine that the if fair part applied?
But principally, the problem with this is that you can't know if a ball will end up fair or foul by where it is in the air (unless we have interference while it's in the air). So you might call IF on a ball hit right above the pitching circle which hits the corner of the rubber and kicks out into foul ground. The batter was never out in that scenario.
Now consider the case of a ball that is also not played near the line and starts bounding in and out of fair territory. Since in your definition it wasn't clearly foul, the batter wasn't out at the apex, but when are they out. Suppose it lands foul, bounces fair and is in the air in foul territory when the BR runs into the 1st basemen. What do you have and how can you possibly square that with what you said above.

Second, calling an infield fly at the apex is a mechanical point. The rule contemplates the hit, the declaration and the ball gaining status so I think you'd have to go with one of those as the moment the batter is out.

Third, if this were the right interpretation then what of the rule which very clearly states that a BR who interferes with the ball is out and the ball is dead with no one else out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2015, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
I'm not picking apart your response, just engaging in constructive discussion here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I have a number of problems with this.

First, you've created a strange category of balls that are clearly fair as opposed to possibly fair. I can't imagine that anyone writing the rulebook imagined they were creating a situation where an IF if fair had different interference penalties than a regularly IF. Can one retroactively determine that the if fair part applied?
But principally, the problem with this is that you can't know if a ball will end up fair or foul by where it is in the air (unless we have interference while it's in the air).
We had INT while the ball was in air, and its fair/foul status was never determined. Had the ball been "clearly fair", i.e. not in question, we would have been able to rule on the infield fly out. Also, note that in the comment I am indulging Dakota's request to take "I dunno" out of it, and assume a fair ball.

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
So you might call IF on a ball hit right above the pitching circle which hits the corner of the rubber and kicks out into foul ground. The batter was never out in that scenario.
I get that. I've also never seen it happen that way. Doesn't mean it can't, though. Seems like a poor mechanic then, calling it before we know with certainty whether or not it will be fair. Maybe we should shout "if fair" on every IFF? (<--- this is sarcasm)

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Now consider the case of a ball that is also not played near the line and starts bounding in and out of fair territory. Since in your definition it wasn't clearly foul, the batter wasn't out at the apex, but when are they out. Suppose it lands foul, bounces fair and is in the air in foul territory when the BR runs into the 1st basemen. What do you have and how can you possibly square that with what you said above.
This would be a foul ball, unless somehow a fielder had an opportunity to make an out on a batted ball that had already hit the ground, and was over foul territory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Second, calling an infield fly at the apex is a mechanical point. The rule contemplates the hit, the declaration and the ball gaining status so I think you'd have to go with one of those as the moment the batter is out.

Third, if this were the right interpretation then what of the rule which very clearly states that a BR who interferes with the ball is out and the ball is dead with no one else out.
Your second point also captures the crux of my OP: when is a BR retired on a infield fly? My partner never called infield fly, and the fair/foul status was "I dunno". Was the BR a retired runner at the time of INT or not?

We deemed that she was not, thus the defense was not awarded a second out for INT by a retired runner.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Mon May 11, 2015 at 09:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2015, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The enormous point the last two posts are missing...

Interference is an IMMEDIATE dead ball.

The only question in a situation like the OP is... where IS the ball (not where will it be) at the moment it play is dead. If over fair territory, it's fair. If over foul territory, it's foul. Everything that happens after the moment the interference occurred is irrelevant.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFL Playoff OT Scenarios umpire99 Football 14 Fri Jan 14, 2011 05:50pm
Two Scenarios TheWahls7 Softball 9 Fri May 21, 2010 02:17pm
Two scenarios jking_94577 Basketball 8 Sat Mar 12, 2005 07:51am
more FT Scenarios? Troward Basketball 3 Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:18pm
Two scenarios Danvrapp Basketball 41 Tue Aug 07, 2001 08:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1