The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 16, 2014, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
To my mind, ASA has this one right, where FED does not. But given that the OP was FED, the runner from 3rd is AWARDED home (chap posts one of the places that shows FED feels this way), and on an award the runner must be given the opportunity to fix baserunning mistakes.

In ASA, this is clearly an out.

There are several rules in play on this call.

First, as stated from the CB play, the player is awarded home plate because she was forced to advance on the award of first for a Base on balls.

Second, rule 8-3-4 states that when a runner has based a base, she is said to have touched it. It specifically adds "This also applies to awarded bases".


Third, the fact that a base on balls is a live ball in fast pitch.


Fourth, A live ball appeal is allowed for a runner missing a base.

This leads me to this conclusion: Since the awarded base was passed by the runner she is said to have touched the base, and since the ball is live after a base on balls an appeal on her missing the base can be granted as soon as she missed home plate, thus the umpire was correct in ruling the runner out on a live ball appeal.

This play is different than the case play in that in the case play, the out was made on a different runner, who arrived at and passed the base she was awarded and was then tagged out. In the case play, the runner awarded home had not yet touched home plate. A timing play can't occur on a player who is awarded he base, so the out counts, but since home was an award, the run counts as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 16, 2014, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
...A timing play can't occur on a player who is awarded he base, so the out counts, but since home was an award, the run counts as well.
That is illogical. Either the run scores (in which case the runner cannot be declared out), or the runner is declared out and the run does not score. A run cannot be scored by a runner who is out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 16, 2014, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
That is illogical. Either the run scores (in which case the runner cannot be declared out), or the runner is declared out and the run does not score. A run cannot be scored by a runner who is out.
I worded it poorly. In the casebook play, the situation would be a timing player. The R2 is thrown out at 3rd base after advancing from second to third on a base on balls passing the base and being tagged out , however R1, who was on third had not yet scored. Since she was forced to advance on the base on balls, she is awarded home plate. The timing of R2 being thrown out, does not impact R1 scoring, since she was awarded home on a bases load base on balls.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases loaded walk... jmkupka Softball 32 Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm
Bases Loaded Walk... mightymoose_22 Baseball 37 Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm
Bases Loaded... mrm21711 Baseball 5 Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm
Bases loaded appeal results Leecedar Softball 6 Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm
Base on Balls Bases Loaded For the kids Softball 18 Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1