![]() |
|
|||
The umpire was wrong. The defensive coach was wrong and made the umpire wrong.
There are two possibly applicable rules, and neither was violated at that point. 1) 8-6-7 for failing to touch the base; must be properly appealed. It wasn't properly appealed, because on that awarded base, runners must be given an opportunity to complete their running obligations, and that opportunity does not end until either a) the runner stops on a different base (inapplicable here) or b) enters dead ball territory (didn't happen, according to the OP). 2) 8-6-19 for abandoning the base; not an appeal, the umpire must make this call if it applies. But it doesnt, the rule continues with "by entering dead ball territory". Again, didn't happen. So, the coach tipped off the offense prematurely, and eliminated the opportunity to apply either rule. Runner should have been safe once she returned and touched the base because the appeal should not have been honored.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bases loaded walk... | jmkupka | Softball | 32 | Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm |
Bases Loaded Walk... | mightymoose_22 | Baseball | 37 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm |
Bases Loaded... | mrm21711 | Baseball | 5 | Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm |
Bases loaded appeal results | Leecedar | Softball | 6 | Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm |
Base on Balls Bases Loaded | For the kids | Softball | 18 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am |