The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Fed Jewelry Rule Issue

I don't think I posted this one yet, but this happened the same day as the play at the plate, contact play.

In this game I am the PU. Team A is playing with only 9 players. During the warmup pitchers prior to the bottom of the second inning, I witness F5 wearing an earring. I approach the coach and inform him of the fact F5 is not legally equipped. I also inform F5 that she may not continue to participate while not legally equipment.

Unfortunately for F5, she needs a special tool to remove the earing, one that that she does not have. Since she can't remove the item, she can't participate. I allow the player a moment to attempt to loosen the jewlery, while the coach is repositioning his defense. After the inning, Team A is up to bat and the player's potisition in the order is reached, but she still has not been able to remove the jewelry. We declare an out because she was unable to bat.

A couple innings later she is finally able to get the jewlery removed. I allow her to re-enter the game. When she was found with the jewelry on, a team warning was issued to the coach for a non-properly equiped player.

I think I handled this correctly, but I want confirmation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:18am
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.
Please give us a rule reference that covers this?
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.
In ASA it is specified that the player who leaves the game and causes a team to go shorthanded may not return to the game for any reason, however I don't find anything to prohibit it in NFHS. If she can finally correct the illegal equipment problem i.e. the jewelry then she may re enter in a high school game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
As to when did F5 officially leave the game..when PU noticed the jewelry and requested it be removed and was informed it could not be he told the team she could not play. At that point she has left the game.

If I am PU and I remove a player, I am expecting a substitution so I am going to the coach with my lineup card out. Even if the team turned in a lineup card of nine players only I will still go verify with the coach that the team is playing short. Maybe someone showed up and the team will take their team warning. Might make a "field promotion" from the JV team if they are at the field. Who knows?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
In ASA it is specified that the player who leaves the game and causes a team to go shorthanded may not return to the game for any reason, however I don't find anything to prohibit it in NFHS. If she can finally correct the illegal equipment problem i.e. the jewelry then she may re enter in a high school game.
This is what I read in the rules as well for Fed as well. I can find 3 rule references to playing short handed in the Fed rulebook. 4-3-1f, 4-3-1g, and 7-4-1.

4-3-1f deals with with a team not having 9 players to start a game.

4-3-1g deals with a team not having 8 players to continuing playing.

7-4-1 deals with a batter not being able to bat and an opening in the batting order.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
We discussed this on one of your other threads... the error here was calling the out. And that error caused the 2nd error of letting her play again.

I'll let you find it in the book... but under what circumstances do you rule an out for playing shorthanded? And was the player actually there.

Conversely, what do you do when a batter refuses to enter the batter's box? (This is what you REALLY had - you did not really have a shorthanded situation)

That should lead you there.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
We discussed this on one of your other threads... the error here was calling the out. And that error caused the 2nd error of letting her play again.

I'll let you find it in the book... but under what circumstances do you rule an out for playing shorthanded? And was the player actually there.

Conversely, what do you do when a batter refuses to enter the batter's box? (This is what you REALLY had - you did not really have a shorthanded situation)

That should lead you there.

What I have found regarding the calling her out is this.

7-4-1 Batter is out A team playing with one less than the starting number in the batting order and her turn to bat is reached.

Nowhere does the rule specify why she isn't playing, only that they are playing with 1 less than the starting number in the batting order).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Where is a bandaid when you need one?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Where is a bandaid when you need one?
Michigan makes it very clear jewelry can not be taped over. We are told not to ask what is under the tape (or bandaid), but once they say I will just tape over it (as she did), we know what they are going to do an can not allow that.

If I just see a bandaid on an ear, I will tell the athlete that taping over jewlery is not legal, but I can't actually ask what she is covering. For all I know she cut her ear in practice.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Michigan makes it very clear jewelry can not be taped over. We are told not to ask what is under the tape (or bandaid), but once they say I will just tape over it (as she did), we know what they are going to do an can not allow that.

If I just see a bandaid on an ear, I will tell the athlete that taping over jewlery is not legal, but I can't actually ask what she is covering. For all I know she cut her ear in practice.
Well, personally, I think the Fed jewelry rule is way out of line, but that is just me.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Michigan makes it very clear jewelry can not be taped over. We are told not to ask what is under the tape (or bandaid), but once they say I will just tape over it (as she did), we know what they are going to do an can not allow that.

If I just see a bandaid on an ear, I will tell the athlete that taping over jewlery is not legal, but I can't actually ask what she is covering. For all I know she cut her ear in practice.
I could be mistaken, but I think Irishmafia was kidding....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:52am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Where is a bandaid when you need one?

Irish:

You are a bad boy.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Irish:

You are a bad boy.

MTD, Sr.
No, just more intelligent than some folks
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 12:21pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
I am going to jump into the fray.


First, I am currently registered by the OhioHSAA and the MichiganHSAA for basketball, baseball, and fast pitch softball using NFHS rules. I have been registered in those two jurisdictions for soccer and volleyball using NFHS rules. And was registered by the FloridaHSAA for basketball way back in the day when the NFHS first adopted rules against wearing jewelry.

The NFHS position regarding the wearing of jewelry has been the same for all of the sports for which its writes rules: NO JEWELRY CAN BE WORN EXCEPT FOR MEDICAL JEWELRY (AND RELIGIOUS JEWELRY) FOR WHICH THERE ARE SPECIFIC EXCEPTIONS WHICH ARE DETAILED IN THE RULES!

We, as officials cannot make a player remove his or her jewelry, but we must not allow a player to participate while wearing jewelry. Chapmaja, correctly, allowed the Player and her Head Coach a reasonable amount of time to remove the earring. The Player could not do so, and therefore became ineligible to play per NFHS R3-S2-A12 and R3-S6-A1 Penalty. Since the team had no other substitutes, it was required by rule to play short-handed.

When the Player's turn to bat came she still was not legally equipped to play therefore R3-S3-A8b and R7-S4-A1 are enforced and an out shall be called. The question really before the Forum is can the Player return at a later point in the game, assuming she is now legally equipped, per R3-S3-A8d.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Fri May 17, 2013 at 09:04pm. Reason: Corrected grammer and typo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF rule change brings up another issue Mark Padgett Basketball 10 Thu May 19, 2011 10:21am
Jewelry rule causes yelling Mark Padgett Basketball 92 Fri Dec 18, 2009 07:57am
Jewelry?? buddha69 Softball 11 Sat Apr 16, 2005 08:50am
NCAA Jewelry Rule? alabamabluezebra Softball 9 Thu Apr 08, 2004 01:39pm
Please help, my issue with the tuck rule rking Football 7 Wed Feb 04, 2004 05:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1