The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:18am
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.
Please give us a rule reference that covers this?
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.
In ASA it is specified that the player who leaves the game and causes a team to go shorthanded may not return to the game for any reason, however I don't find anything to prohibit it in NFHS. If she can finally correct the illegal equipment problem i.e. the jewelry then she may re enter in a high school game.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
As to when did F5 officially leave the game..when PU noticed the jewelry and requested it be removed and was informed it could not be he told the team she could not play. At that point she has left the game.

If I am PU and I remove a player, I am expecting a substitution so I am going to the coach with my lineup card out. Even if the team turned in a lineup card of nine players only I will still go verify with the coach that the team is playing short. Maybe someone showed up and the team will take their team warning. Might make a "field promotion" from the JV team if they are at the field. Who knows?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
In ASA it is specified that the player who leaves the game and causes a team to go shorthanded may not return to the game for any reason, however I don't find anything to prohibit it in NFHS. If she can finally correct the illegal equipment problem i.e. the jewelry then she may re enter in a high school game.
This is what I read in the rules as well for Fed as well. I can find 3 rule references to playing short handed in the Fed rulebook. 4-3-1f, 4-3-1g, and 7-4-1.

4-3-1f deals with with a team not having 9 players to start a game.

4-3-1g deals with a team not having 8 players to continuing playing.

7-4-1 deals with a batter not being able to bat and an opening in the batting order.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF rule change brings up another issue Mark Padgett Basketball 10 Thu May 19, 2011 10:21am
Jewelry rule causes yelling Mark Padgett Basketball 92 Fri Dec 18, 2009 07:57am
Jewelry?? buddha69 Softball 11 Sat Apr 16, 2005 08:50am
NCAA Jewelry Rule? alabamabluezebra Softball 9 Thu Apr 08, 2004 01:39pm
Please help, my issue with the tuck rule rking Football 7 Wed Feb 04, 2004 05:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1