The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Fed Jewelry Rule Issue (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95068-fed-jewelry-rule-issue.html)

chapmaja Fri May 17, 2013 11:13am

Fed Jewelry Rule Issue
 
I don't think I posted this one yet, but this happened the same day as the play at the plate, contact play.

In this game I am the PU. Team A is playing with only 9 players. During the warmup pitchers prior to the bottom of the second inning, I witness F5 wearing an earring. I approach the coach and inform him of the fact F5 is not legally equipped. I also inform F5 that she may not continue to participate while not legally equipment.

Unfortunately for F5, she needs a special tool to remove the earing, one that that she does not have. Since she can't remove the item, she can't participate. I allow the player a moment to attempt to loosen the jewlery, while the coach is repositioning his defense. After the inning, Team A is up to bat and the player's potisition in the order is reached, but she still has not been able to remove the jewelry. We declare an out because she was unable to bat.

A couple innings later she is finally able to get the jewlery removed. I allow her to re-enter the game. When she was found with the jewelry on, a team warning was issued to the coach for a non-properly equiped player.

I think I handled this correctly, but I want confirmation.

CecilOne Fri May 17, 2013 11:15am

Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.

MD Longhorn Fri May 17, 2013 11:17am

We discussed this on one of your other threads... the error here was calling the out. And that error caused the 2nd error of letting her play again.

I'll let you find it in the book... but under what circumstances do you rule an out for playing shorthanded? And was the player actually there.

Conversely, what do you do when a batter refuses to enter the batter's box? (This is what you REALLY had - you did not really have a shorthanded situation)

That should lead you there.

Insane Blue Fri May 17, 2013 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 894604)
Once a team plays shorthanded, the "short" player may not re-enter.

Otherwise, handled fine.

Please give us a rule reference that covers this?

chapmaja Fri May 17, 2013 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 894606)
We discussed this on one of your other threads... the error here was calling the out. And that error caused the 2nd error of letting her play again.

I'll let you find it in the book... but under what circumstances do you rule an out for playing shorthanded? And was the player actually there.

Conversely, what do you do when a batter refuses to enter the batter's box? (This is what you REALLY had - you did not really have a shorthanded situation)

That should lead you there.


What I have found regarding the calling her out is this.

7-4-1 Batter is out A team playing with one less than the starting number in the batting order and her turn to bat is reached.

Nowhere does the rule specify why she isn't playing, only that they are playing with 1 less than the starting number in the batting order).

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 17, 2013 11:32am

Where is a bandaid when you need one? :rolleyes:

chapmaja Fri May 17, 2013 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 894613)
Where is a bandaid when you need one? :rolleyes:

Michigan makes it very clear jewelry can not be taped over. We are told not to ask what is under the tape (or bandaid), but once they say I will just tape over it (as she did), we know what they are going to do an can not allow that.

If I just see a bandaid on an ear, I will tell the athlete that taping over jewlery is not legal, but I can't actually ask what she is covering. For all I know she cut her ear in practice.

MD Longhorn Fri May 17, 2013 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 894611)
What I have found regarding the calling her out is this.

7-4-1 Batter is out A team playing with one less than the starting number in the batting order and her turn to bat is reached.

Nowhere does the rule specify why she isn't playing, only that they are playing with 1 less than the starting number in the batting order).

Did coach tell you he was removing her from the game? No. She was obviously trying to address the issue of jewelry.

Like in the other thread - YOU do not decide when a player is in or out of the game (except, of course, an ejection). When she could not come to bat because she was not properly equipped, you rule a penalty strike. 3 of those and THEN she's out, but she's not removed from the game.

Then you don't have the problem of letting her back into the game - she was never out of the game.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 17, 2013 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 894614)
Michigan makes it very clear jewelry can not be taped over. We are told not to ask what is under the tape (or bandaid), but once they say I will just tape over it (as she did), we know what they are going to do an can not allow that.

If I just see a bandaid on an ear, I will tell the athlete that taping over jewlery is not legal, but I can't actually ask what she is covering. For all I know she cut her ear in practice.

Well, personally, I think the Fed jewelry rule is way out of line, but that is just me.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri May 17, 2013 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 894613)
Where is a bandaid when you need one? :rolleyes:


Irish:

You are a bad boy. :p

MTD, Sr.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 17, 2013 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 894624)
Irish:

You are a bad boy. :p

MTD, Sr.

No, just more intelligent than some folks ;)

HugoTafurst Fri May 17, 2013 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 894614)
Michigan makes it very clear jewelry can not be taped over. We are told not to ask what is under the tape (or bandaid), but once they say I will just tape over it (as she did), we know what they are going to do an can not allow that.

If I just see a bandaid on an ear, I will tell the athlete that taping over jewlery is not legal, but I can't actually ask what she is covering. For all I know she cut her ear in practice.

I could be mistaken, but I think Irishmafia was kidding....:D

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 17, 2013 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 894629)
I could be mistaken, but I think Irishmafia was kidding....:D

Not really. Not ruling on something I do not see. If I had my druthers, I wouldn't worry about it at all, and don't in ASA, but the reference is Fed.

HugoTafurst Fri May 17, 2013 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 894616)
Did coach tell you he was removing her from the game? No. She was obviously trying to address the issue of jewelry.

Like in the other thread - YOU do not decide when a player is in or out of the game (except, of course, an ejection). When she could not come to bat because she was not properly equipped, you rule a penalty strike. 3 of those and THEN she's out, but she's not removed from the game.

Then you don't have the problem of letting her back into the game - she was never out of the game.


Wait a minute, as I read the OP, F5 did not play her defensive position. Then when her team was on offense, she didn't bat.
How can you say she is still in the game?

MD Longhorn Fri May 17, 2013 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 894632)
Wait a minute, as I read the OP, F5 did not play her defensive position. Then when her team was on offense, she didn't bat.
How can you say she is still in the game?

When was she officially removed from the game?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1