The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Originally Posted by vcblue
However, if it was my judgment that she was rounding first to go to second I would not protect her to second due to the earlier obstruction. I would rule her out and get ready to explain to the OC that the obstruction happened before first, and she was protected to first. And, in my judgment she would not have reached second therefore she is out.

In the above post she cannot be out. If the obstruction happens prior to BR reaching first, the play is dead and obstruction awards are made. Subsequent out cannot take place.

What are you talking about??? (in bold) The OBS happened before first base and she is protected to first. Now if my "what-if" scenario she decides to continue on to second and is tag out, and in my judgment she would not have made second, she's out.

Pretty simple - well that is if other rule sets are the same.

In NSA, "The ball is dead and not in play p. When a play is being made on an obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he/she reaches first base."

In your example you said no protection past first because obstruction was before first. If so the play is dead.

Is this unique to NSA??

PS: I do not know how to show quotes from previous posts in blue like many of you do. Sorry - it would make it easier to read, but.......
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Must be unique to NSA. ASA you are protect between the base where the OBS occurred. The ball is not dead until the runner is put out. The you kill it and award the proper base. However, in your judgment, if the runner attempts another base, and is tagged out before reaching that base you can award her that base. Otherwise she is out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1