The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
Batter/Runner hits the ball to second baseman. Throw to first is dropped by first baseman near the foul line in the path of the batter/runner. Batter/runner steps into fair territory around the first baseman tags the base and falls about three feet towards second base off of first base. First baseman turns and tags the runner off the bag.

The call?
as soon as the F3 loses control of the ball, she is in jeopardy of committing obstruction. I would call obstruction anyways and send the runner back to 1st. If the runner on her own initiative decides to run to 2nd, then I wave off the obstruction...

i once had obstruction on F4 on a runner sliding into 2nd, ball arrived a hair late. I signaled obstruction, the runner thought I was sending her to 3rd and just walked to 3rd and F4 just stood there watching the runner walk to 3rd!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by bniu View Post
as soon as the F3 loses control of the ball, she is in jeopardy of committing obstruction. I would call obstruction anyways and send the runner back to 1st. If the runner on her own initiative decides to run to 2nd, then I wave off the obstruction...

i once had obstruction on F4 on a runner sliding into 2nd, ball arrived a hair late. I signaled obstruction, the runner thought I was sending her to 3rd and just walked to 3rd and F4 just stood there watching the runner walk to 3rd!
I actually had a coach protest a call this past weekend and stop my whole game while we waited for the UIC (who moved none to fast I'll tell you) because he contended that a runner "running on their own to 2nd" negates OBS. Because he is a self proclaimed rules expert (as affirmed by his crowd) I did let him know that I was a little irritated that we were wasting time with this useless protest. I was able to save some time by advising the other team of the pending result of the protest before the UIC was even there.

I'm hoping that some of you are here to partake in the abundance of actual rules knowledge available to you as a resource on this forum.

What part of "a runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" (aside from a few very specific instances) is confusing you?

We'll try to help you out.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Wed Apr 29, 2009 at 03:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
I actually had a coach protest a call this past weekend and stop my whole game while we waited for the UIC (who moved none to fast I'll tell you) because he contended that a runner "running on their own to 2nd" negates OBS. Because he is a self proclaimed rules expert (as affirmed by his crowd) I did let him know that I was a little irritated that we were wasting time with this useless protest. I was able to save some time by advising the other team of the pending result of the protest before the UIC was even there.

I'm hoping that some of you are here to partake in the abundance of actual rules knowledge available to you as a resource on this forum.

What part of "a runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" (aside from a few very specific instances) is confusing you?

We'll try to help you out.

cuz she was obstructed between home and 1st. I treat it like F3 flipped her over even though she managed to physically come in contact with 1st base, I'm still protecting her until she has gained solid control of 1st base. If she wants to go for 2nd on her own, that's at her own peril. If the fielder tackles her between 1st and 2nd, i'll give her 2nd and eject the fielder.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1