The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Call at First

Batter/Runner hits the ball to second baseman. Throw to first is dropped by first baseman near the foul line in the path of the batter/runner. Batter/runner steps into fair territory around the first baseman tags the base and falls about three feet towards second base off of first base. First baseman turns and tags the runner off the bag.

The call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
Batter/Runner hits the ball to second baseman. Throw to first is dropped by first baseman near the foul line in the path of the batter/runner. Batter/runner steps into fair territory around the first baseman tags the base and falls about three feet towards second base off of first base. First baseman turns and tags the runner off the bag.

The call?
For what? You could have obstruction on F3, but I don't see anything else for the umpire to decide.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
The runner was saying they didn't make an attempt towards second base. There was no contact between F3 and the runner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
The runner was saying they didn't make an attempt towards second base.
That is why there is no call on a tag.

Quote:
There was no contact between F3 and the runner.
Irrelevant
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
The runner was saying they didn't make an attempt towards second base. There was no contact between F3 and the runner.
I don't think an attempt is relevant. They didn't overrun the base, they fell off of it.
________
Oliviya cam

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Runner falls off the bag and are tagged, they are out. The obstruction of F3 didn't cause her to fall off the bag. She side stepped F3 touched the bag and fell off it.
Out in my opinion. Am I wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
Runner falls off the bag and are tagged, they are out. The obstruction of F3 didn't cause her to fall off the bag. She side stepped F3 touched the bag and fell off it.
Out in my opinion. Am I wrong.
Why did she fall off?
________
GLASS PIPES

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I don't think an attempt is relevant. They didn't overrun the base, they fell off of it.
Really? Define "overrun"? Where does the book say the runner must run through the base? Where does it state a runner must remain on their feet? The runner can do cartwheels, somersaults and back flips after touching 1B if they want as long as the umpire doesn't judge she made an attempt to advance.

The ONLY way this runner is called out is if the runner literally stopped while in contact with the base and then, in a completely separate action unaffected and unrelated to those attaining 1B, the player loses contact with the base and then is tagged with the ball while off base.

Call it however you want, but the correct call is nothing without the runner making an attempt toward 2b.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Really? Define "overrun"? Where does the book say the runner must run through the base? Where does it state a runner must remain on their feet? The runner can do cartwheels, somersaults and back flips after touching 1B if they want as long as the umpire doesn't judge she made an attempt to advance.

The ONLY way this runner is called out is if the runner literally stopped while in contact with the base and then, in a completely separate action unaffected and unrelated to those attaining 1B, the player loses contact with the base and then is tagged with the ball while off base.

Call it however you want, but the correct call is nothing without the runner making an attempt toward 2b.
Where does the book say that the runner has to literally stop on the base and fall off of it? Maybe it does say that. I'm just asking where.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Really? Define "overrun"? Where does the book say the runner must run through the base? Where does it state a runner must remain on their feet? The runner can do cartwheels, somersaults and back flips after touching 1B if they want as long as the umpire doesn't judge she made an attempt to advance.

The ONLY way this runner is called out is if the runner literally stopped while in contact with the base and then, in a completely separate action unaffected and unrelated to those attaining 1B, the player loses contact with the base and then is tagged with the ball while off base.

Call it however you want, but the correct call is nothing without the runner making an attempt toward 2b.
Overrun means to run beyond or past. They don't have to stay on their feet but to be entitled to the overrunning exception they do have to run past the base. Once they do that I agree with you that they can do whatever they want as long as it isn't an attempt.

If they ran to 1st and stepped on it and fell forward, I'd go with what you're saying as well, though as written a runner tripping over 1st base is liable to be put out.
________
How To Roll A Joint

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
Batter/Runner hits the ball to second baseman. Throw to first is dropped by first baseman near the foul line in the path of the batter/runner. Batter/runner steps into fair territory around the first baseman tags the base and falls about three feet towards second base off of first base. First baseman turns and tags the runner off the bag.

The call?
If I understand you correctly, F3 was in the way and that's why BR did this dance. In that case I've got obstruction resulting in the player not holding the base (which means I'm stretching a little to make the obstruction between 1st and 2nd). Dead ball, BR is awarded first only.
The call of out might be by the book, but I can't believe that's intentional.
________
Paxil classaction

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
Batter/Runner hits the ball to second baseman. Throw to first is dropped by first baseman near the foul line in the path of the batter/runner. Batter/runner steps into fair territory around the first baseman tags the base and falls about three feet towards second base off of first base. First baseman turns and tags the runner off the bag.

The call?
as soon as the F3 loses control of the ball, she is in jeopardy of committing obstruction. I would call obstruction anyways and send the runner back to 1st. If the runner on her own initiative decides to run to 2nd, then I wave off the obstruction...

i once had obstruction on F4 on a runner sliding into 2nd, ball arrived a hair late. I signaled obstruction, the runner thought I was sending her to 3rd and just walked to 3rd and F4 just stood there watching the runner walk to 3rd!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by bniu View Post
as soon as the F3 loses control of the ball, she is in jeopardy of committing obstruction. I would call obstruction anyways and send the runner back to 1st. If the runner on her own initiative decides to run to 2nd, then I wave off the obstruction...

i once had obstruction on F4 on a runner sliding into 2nd, ball arrived a hair late. I signaled obstruction, the runner thought I was sending her to 3rd and just walked to 3rd and F4 just stood there watching the runner walk to 3rd!
I actually had a coach protest a call this past weekend and stop my whole game while we waited for the UIC (who moved none to fast I'll tell you) because he contended that a runner "running on their own to 2nd" negates OBS. Because he is a self proclaimed rules expert (as affirmed by his crowd) I did let him know that I was a little irritated that we were wasting time with this useless protest. I was able to save some time by advising the other team of the pending result of the protest before the UIC was even there.

I'm hoping that some of you are here to partake in the abundance of actual rules knowledge available to you as a resource on this forum.

What part of "a runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" (aside from a few very specific instances) is confusing you?

We'll try to help you out.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Wed Apr 29, 2009 at 03:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
I actually had a coach protest a call this past weekend and stop my whole game while we waited for the UIC (who moved none to fast I'll tell you) because he contended that a runner "running on their own to 2nd" negates OBS. Because he is a self proclaimed rules expert (as affirmed by his crowd) I did let him know that I was a little irritated that we were wasting time with this useless protest. I was able to save some time by advising the other team of the pending result of the protest before the UIC was even there.

I'm hoping that some of you are here to partake in the abundance of actual rules knowledge available to you as a resource on this forum.

What part of "a runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" (aside from a few very specific instances) is confusing you?

We'll try to help you out.

cuz she was obstructed between home and 1st. I treat it like F3 flipped her over even though she managed to physically come in contact with 1st base, I'm still protecting her until she has gained solid control of 1st base. If she wants to go for 2nd on her own, that's at her own peril. If the fielder tackles her between 1st and 2nd, i'll give her 2nd and eject the fielder.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1