The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Hi Wade,

I understand KR's argument. I'm just pointing out that there is the possibility of a loophole in that a BR gets an awarded base which should/would force other runners to advance [without liability].

I think the other 2 associations mentioned {NCAA and NFHS} have a better take on this situation than ASA. That said, however, if I encounter the situation while wearing my ASA cap, I will invoke the KR logic.

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I believe this question was on an NCAA test at some level. If the information afforded me was correct, those in a position of interpretating NCAA rules acknowledged that the runner was beyond the base and possibly in jeopardy, but score the run anyway.

And that is fine. And when asked the question by a fellow umpire, I hesitated because I knew where it was going. Is one interpretation more correct than the other? No, because that is the way each wants their rules applied.

Will they ever be the same? Maybe, but I would say it is more likely ASA would move before NCAA would ever give it a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I disagree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Hi Wade,

I understand KR's argument. I'm just pointing out that there is the possibility of a loophole in that a BR gets an awarded base which should/would force other runners to advance [without liability].

I think the other 2 associations mentioned {NCAA and NFHS} have a better take on this situation than ASA. That said, however, if I encounter the situation while wearing my ASA cap, I will invoke the KR logic.

Ted
I think ASA has it correct. What hasn't been clearly stated, IMHO, thus far is that R1 is allowed to advance without liability to be put out, but it is not R1 that is being put out. It is R2. And R2 is protected only to third base. So when she overran third she was in jeopardy. ASA's rule is very clear to me. No run shall score if a live ball tag play occurs before the runner crossing home. The FED has it wrong in my opinion. How can a run score when they didn't touch home before the third out of the inning? I know in FED they can because they said so, but I believe ASA's logic on this is more sound. But I will call it the way the governing rules for the game I'm officiating require me to.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
awarded bases, timming play


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would they ever score? Mark Padgett Basketball 3 Mon Mar 03, 2008 08:18am
Score Out? soclueless Basketball 11 Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm
appeal play - does the run score? ggk Baseball 8 Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:16am
How do you score this? BigUmpJohn Softball 4 Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm
HOW WOULD YOU SCORE THIS PLAY? etbaseball Baseball 4 Tue Feb 05, 2002 11:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1