![]() |
|
|||
Eager Partner?
From a Fed game last week where I am PU. Partner is pretty good, no real problems with him (first time working together). First occasion, lead runner coming in to 3B (trailing BR still on bases), I am down the line getting in to position with a throw coming in. I see BU coming over so I verbalize "I got third" (loud enough to make the 3B coach turn towards me), but BU continues to move in. Luckily ball gets away so there's no call to make. Second occasion, we have a rundown between 2B and 3B. I am in position to take the lead, but BU is right smack dab in the middle, so I verbalize "I got this end" (again loud enough to make the 3B coach turn). There is a series of quick throws as the BU does his imitation of one of those target ducks that twirls back and forth before the tag is made as the runner is retreating to 2B and BU rings her up.
My questions is this: After letting the BU know that I am there to make my call and he is still right there to also make the call, what should I do? In both cases, I was thinking to myself that I was going to let him make the call (and the rundown did turn out to be his call) in order to save us from the possible double call, but what should I have done? He was a 20-year veteran and after the game he was more concerned with fraternizing with the coaches than reviewing game so we didn't get to discuss the coverages. I know we pre-gamed, but I don't remember for sure if we went over these situations. More than likely we didn't. |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, although there was no time for a post game meeting, I would have called the BU the next day to discuss. |
|
|||
I say dont call him.. For what purpose? If its like my area, you may not see this guy again for perhaps years.. who knows? He surely doesnt want to hear from you and wouldnt listen anyway.
In a game with a guy like that.. just wait and see if they will make the call. If he doesnt, make it.. if he does.. let him. No post game either.. just get in your car, go home, vent a little here, and forgidabodit.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
That last line says it all ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
That would work too. But, for the NCAA game, what kcg mentioned is indeed the approved signal.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
When I read that, I understood him to mean that a secret signal is not required for a rundown. And I have to agree; in the middle of the action, a signal like touching your ear seems far too easy to miss. A simple verbal response would work better, imo. But when there is no action, the standard umpire-to-umpire signals are certainly appropriate. That's completely different from what was being discussed. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What a Partner! | refnrev | Volleyball | 2 | Tue Feb 06, 2007 05:33pm |
How do tell your partner??? | MidMadness | Basketball | 27 | Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:15am |
Partner... | kristal_15 | Basketball | 12 | Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:28pm |
Partner | ref5678 | Softball | 14 | Tue Jun 17, 2003 02:10pm |
Partner | oppool | Softball | 15 | Wed Jul 25, 2001 06:19pm |