| 
			
			 
			
				Tue May 01, 2007, 12:37pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: USA 
						Posts: 14,565
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by tcannizzo
					
				 I understand that a straight slide into 1B is a stretch, but without looking at the exact same play, this will be tough to resolve on a message board.
 If the runner had swung wide as though advancing to 2B, perhaps betting that the ball would get RF, but then saw the throw coming in, I could see a slide into 1B and only getting white. (although I never agree with the strategy of sliding into 1B, except to avoid a tag).
 
 My point is that the slide itself does not come into consideration in my ruling.
 |  No, it is not an HTBT play.  It is purely a rule interpretation question, not a multiple "what if" scenario.
		 
				__________________The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
 |