The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
double base

Does anyone know the significance of the following change in this year's ASA Rule 8-2-M?

Rule 8-2-M-1 from the 2005 book is 8-2-M-1 and 8-2-M-2 in the 2006 book. (That's no problem; the entries are shorter and clearer.) 8-2-M-2 has naturally become 8-2-M-3, but 8-2-M-3 has been split into 8-2-M-4 and 8-2-M-5. Does anyone know what's going on?

8-2-M-4, "On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base," now stands alone, but it seems to be missing something. Every other entry under 8-2-M is a complete sentence.

What I'm trying to find out is whether, if a ground ball bounces off F3's chest and into foul territory, and F3 retrieves the ball, can he use the orange base? The way I read this, he can, but I'm not sure exactly how to read this rule.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double first base again DaveASA/FED Softball 10 Thu May 19, 2005 09:42pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Double-bag first base Robmoz Softball 4 Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44am
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1