View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 03:22pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
The scenario is even more evident in co-ed games where the women, more often than not, run to first and stop on the bag. If it is only the white portion then they have to be out on the proper appeal or the double base rule is diminished.
In your situation, (or in the OP) how could you call an out? "Proper appeal" means that they did so before the runner returned... the runner never left, so consequently can't return. Hence the conundrum Irish is getting at... the DEF can only get an out on this if appealed prior to the BR returning to 1B. If she never left it to begin with (like the OP states), then by rule, there's no appeal allowed. Does this negate or diminish the safety base concept? Sure it does. Could it be a loophole? Sure it could be.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote