The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 06:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
You make the call - double base

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
How about "Once BR has reached first, it's just one big base"?
Not necessarily.

Speaking ASA

Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.

BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.

Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Well that is a tough one. Contacting the wrong portion of 1st with a play from fair territory is a live ball appeal that has to be done prior to the runner returning to the base, and since she is still on the base, it is going to be hard for me to call her out. I am going to say no, since she is in contact with the base and the appeal rule for that play states once she has returned to the white portion the appeal can no longer be made.

Ok I am ready to hear what I missed.....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 08:31am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Not necessarily.

Speaking ASA

Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.

BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.

Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?

By rule I possibly should call her out, From a survival standpoint, I believe I saw her right foot touch the orange bag!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Without looking it up. And without seeing the play.
My call - SAFE.
My interp - BR is entitled to use the white portion of 1B when they are advancing to 2B on an extra base hit attempt. Since ball was hit to outfield, BR will get the benefit of the doubt. Colored portion of the base is intended for a typical infield play.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
Colored portion of the base is intended for a typical infield play.
No so. By rule, ANY play at first. Infield/outfield was eliminated from an consideration a couple years ago. Obviously, since there is a play at 1B and the runner is sliding, I think the "advancing to 2B" would be a stretch to sell.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
I understand that a straight slide into 1B is a stretch, but without looking at the exact same play, this will be tough to resolve on a message board.

If the runner had swung wide as though advancing to 2B, perhaps betting that the ball would get RF, but then saw the throw coming in, I could see a slide into 1B and only getting white. (although I never agree with the strategy of sliding into 1B, except to avoid a tag).

My point is that the slide itself does not come into consideration in my ruling.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 11:26am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
No, I'm not calling her out on the appeal. Why? Because she has to leave the base in order to return to it. The appeal has to be made prior to her returning. Since she never left the base, she can't return... so no appeal is allowed.

Just my overpriced $0.02. I'm probably wrong. Oh well.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Not necessarily.

Speaking ASA

Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.

BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.

Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?
The runner is out.
R/S 1-L
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
I understand that a straight slide into 1B is a stretch, but without looking at the exact same play, this will be tough to resolve on a message board.

If the runner had swung wide as though advancing to 2B, perhaps betting that the ball would get RF, but then saw the throw coming in, I could see a slide into 1B and only getting white. (although I never agree with the strategy of sliding into 1B, except to avoid a tag).

My point is that the slide itself does not come into consideration in my ruling.
No, it is not an HTBT play. It is purely a rule interpretation question, not a multiple "what if" scenario.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Not necessarily.

Speaking ASA

Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.

BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.

Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?
1) My comment "How about "Once BR has reached first, it's just one big base"? " was about being specific and correct instead of an earlier "passed 1st base", agreed to by that poster.
2) As the BR is out for not using the safety base on a play from fair ground, the BR has not "reached" 1st legally and so has not "reached"; based on rules not physics/geometry.
3) I would agree that on appeal, the BR is out. The "returning" concept is also rules, not physics/geometry. The rule is applied jst as if the BR leaped over the base or ran wide of it, because the white doesn't exist for BR rule purposes on an play of a "force" nature.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
No, I'm not calling her out on the appeal. Why? Because she has to leave the base in order to return to it. The appeal has to be made prior to her returning. Since she never left the base, she can't return... so no appeal is allowed.

Just my overpriced $0.02. I'm probably wrong. Oh well.
The scenario is even more evident in co-ed games where the women, more often than not, run to first and stop on the bag. If it is only the white portion then they have to be out on the proper appeal or the double base rule is diminished.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 03:22pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
The scenario is even more evident in co-ed games where the women, more often than not, run to first and stop on the bag. If it is only the white portion then they have to be out on the proper appeal or the double base rule is diminished.
In your situation, (or in the OP) how could you call an out? "Proper appeal" means that they did so before the runner returned... the runner never left, so consequently can't return. Hence the conundrum Irish is getting at... the DEF can only get an out on this if appealed prior to the BR returning to 1B. If she never left it to begin with (like the OP states), then by rule, there's no appeal allowed. Does this negate or diminish the safety base concept? Sure it does. Could it be a loophole? Sure it could be.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
In your situation, (or in the OP) how could you call an out? "Proper appeal" means that they did so before the runner returned... the runner never left, so consequently can't return. Hence the conundrum Irish is getting at... the DEF can only get an out on this if appealed prior to the BR returning to 1B. If she never left it to begin with (like the OP states), then by rule, there's no appeal allowed. Does this negate or diminish the safety base concept? Sure it does. Could it be a loophole? Sure it could be.
Common sense prevails here. A batter/runner who lands and remains on the white portion of the bag after the ball has arrived is out on proper appeal. If not, then there is no meaning to the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 05:16pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Common sense prevails here. A batter/runner who lands and remains on the white portion of the bag after the ball has arrived is out on proper appeal. If not, then there is no meaning to the rule.
You just changed the scenario. No need to appeal that... ball beat the runner. Out.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
You just changed the scenario. No need to appeal that... ball beat the runner. Out.
my bad, the runner beat the throw...and is out, by rule, if properly appealed for missing the red base.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double base greymule Softball 3 Thu Jun 22, 2006 02:59pm
Double base Fed. Rachel Softball 13 Tue Apr 18, 2006 06:37pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
double base jggilliam Softball 10 Tue Jun 15, 2004 05:55pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1