Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
In your situation, (or in the OP) how could you call an out? "Proper appeal" means that they did so before the runner returned... the runner never left, so consequently can't return. Hence the conundrum Irish is getting at... the DEF can only get an out on this if appealed prior to the BR returning to 1B. If she never left it to begin with (like the OP states), then by rule, there's no appeal allowed. Does this negate or diminish the safety base concept? Sure it does. Could it be a loophole? Sure it could be.
|
Common sense prevails here. A batter/runner who lands and remains on the white portion of the bag after the ball has arrived is out on proper appeal. If not, then there is no meaning to the rule.