Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Not necessarily.
Speaking ASA
Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.
BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.
Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?
|
1) My comment "
How about "Once BR has reached first, it's just one big base"? " was about being specific and correct instead of an earlier "passed 1st base", agreed to by that poster.
2) As the BR is out for not using the safety base on a play from fair ground, the BR has not "
reached" 1st legally and so has not "
reached"; based on rules not physics/geometry.
3) I would agree that on appeal, the BR is out. The "returning" concept is also rules, not physics/geometry. The rule is applied jst as if the BR leaped over the base or ran wide of it, because the white doesn't exist for BR rule purposes on an play of a "force" nature.