The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2018, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
For USA the appeal is considered at the time of the appeal, not the time of the infraction. So, for them, this is not a force out.
This is not actually true. Read the Point of Emphasis regarding third out appeals. It clearly states that a missed base remains a force out if appealed. The "time of the appeal" comes into play only when a succeeding runner is retired prior to reaching the base to which he was forced, removing the force out. The force was not removed when the runner was retired AFTER reaching the base to which he was forced. The force would have only been removed if he were retired BEFORE reaching second base.

Last edited by EricH; Tue Apr 17, 2018 at 12:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2018, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricH View Post
This is not actually true. Read the Point of Emphasis regarding third out appeals. It clearly states that a missed base remains a force out if appealed. The "time of the appeal" comes into play only when a succeeding runner is retired, removing the force out. The force was not removed when the runner was retired AFTER reaching the base to which he was forced. The force would have only been removed if he were retired BEFORE reaching second base.
R1 was out before the appeal.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricH View Post
This is not actually true. Read the Point of Emphasis regarding third out appeals. It clearly states that a missed base remains a force out if appealed. The "time of the appeal" comes into play only when a succeeding runner is retired prior to reaching the base to which he was forced, removing the force out. The force was not removed when the runner was retired AFTER reaching the base to which he was forced. The force would have only been removed if he were retired BEFORE reaching second base.
Actually, it is true.

The RS being quoted by BretMan was added in 2004. BTW, USA/ASA hasn't used the term "Point of Emphasis" since 2006.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 04:47pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
FWIW, here's a USA Softball case play from May 2009:

Quote:
Does the Run Count? R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B and R3 on 1B with two outs, B6 hits a shot into right centerfield. R1, R2 and R3 score before B6 is thrown out at 2B for the third out. F5 yells that R2 missed 3B and ask for a fourth-out appeal. The umpire rules R2 out on a fourth-out appeal and declares the force back into effect and no runs score.

Ruling umpire’s ruling was incorrect, here’s why.

The fourth-out appeal is correct because Rule 5, Section 5, C stipulates, “no run shall score if a “fourth out” is the result of an appeal of a base missed or left too soon on a runner who has scored.” Therefore R2 can be properly appealed and called out as the umpire ruled.

However, the force out is incorrect. Rule 1, Definitions, Force Out: An out which may be made only when a runner loses the right to the base that the runner is occupying because the batter becomes a batter-runner, and before the batter-runner or trailing runner has been put out.” Also according to Rule 5 Section 5B [1] “No run shall score if the third out of the inning is the result of a batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred.” On this play the force would not be in Effect, R2 would be called out on the fourth out appeal and R1 would score.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases loaded walk fdt92 Softball 50 Sun Apr 22, 2018 08:11am
Bases loaded Homer, Missed Base, Runs? MD Longhorn Softball 28 Sat May 18, 2013 08:15am
Bases Loaded... mrm21711 Baseball 5 Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm
Base on Balls Bases Loaded For the kids Softball 18 Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am
Missing base after bases loaded home run Hearls3 Baseball 1 Tue Dec 23, 2003 05:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1