The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 21, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Scrimmage kick play

K's ball 4th and 5 from the 50. K's punt sails over the head of the returner R22 and comes to a complete stop at R's 3 yardline. R22 races back to get the ball, picks it up and his momentum carries him into his own endzone where he slips and falls down.


Ruling???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
K's ball 4th and 5 from the 50. K's punt sails over the head of the returner R22 and comes to a complete stop at R's 3 yardline. R22 races back to get the ball, picks it up and his momentum carries him into his own endzone where he slips and falls down.


Ruling???
No matter what, R ball 1/10 from the R3.

If R22 is not near the ball, the kick ends and the ball is dead when the ball comes to rest and no player is attempting to recover it (6-2-7 and 4-2-2.e.2). R ball 1/10 from the R3.

If R22 is near the ball and retrieves the ball, the momentum exception applies (8-5-2.a EXCEPTION). R ball 1/10 from the end of the kick, which is the R3.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
If the returner takes it into the EZ, when the ball has come to rest, he has put it in there and the kick has ended. Thus I do not believe that momentum would have an effect. It is a safety...In my opinion, Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemiller View Post
If the returner takes it into the EZ, when the ball has come to rest, he has put it in there and the kick has ended. Thus I do not believe that momentum would have an effect. It is a safety...In my opinion, Jim
Perhaps you're not familiar with how the "momentum exception" works. Here's the rule (edited to omit irrelevant possibilities):

8-5-2.a
EXCEPTION: When ... an R player catches or
recovers a scrimmage kick ... between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and
his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead
in his teamís possession ... the ball belongs to the team in possession at the spot
where ... the kick was caught or recovered
.

The OP specified that the R22's momentum carried him from the R3 into the EZ, and the ball was subsequently declared dead. Thus the play meets all of the criteria specified in the exception, so it's R's ball where R22 recovered the kick (the R3).

Notice that whether the ball is at rest is irrelevant to assessing the momentum exception.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 05:00pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemiller View Post
If the returner takes it into the EZ...he has put it in there and the kick has ended.
Once the loose ball has been possessed, the player carrying the ball into the endzone is the force that has put the ball there. It doesn't matter what the ball was doing before that. Under normal circumstances this would be a safety because the B player carried the ball into the endzone and was downed. It is not a safety due to the momentum exception.
__________________
Even if youíre on the right track, youíll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2010, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Once the loose ball has been possessed, the player carrying the ball into the endzone is the force that has put the ball there. It doesn't matter what the ball was doing before that. Under normal circumstances this would be a safety because the B player carried the ball into the endzone and was downed. It is not a safety due to the momentum exception.
Its B's ball 1/10 from B's 3 yard line.

As for your assumption that it would have normally been a safety, I am confused on how you would reach that assumption. Explain please.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by hutsunuwu84 View Post
Its B's ball 1/10 from B's 3 yard line.

As for your assumption that it would have normally been a safety, I am confused on how you would reach that assumption. Explain please.
I think he just meant that if the momentum exception did not apply, it would be a safety because the runner carried the ball from the field of play into his own end zone. However the momentum exception does apply so that's the appropriate ruling in this situation.
__________________
I'm not getting older...these high school kids just keep getting younger and younger
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2010, 08:04pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUgrad2006 View Post
I think he just meant that if the momentum exception did not apply, it would be a safety because the runner carried the ball from the field of play into his own end zone. However the momentum exception does apply so that's the appropriate ruling in this situation.
Precisely. Without the momentum exception, the result of this play is a safety.
__________________
Even if youíre on the right track, youíll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 24, 2010, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by jemiller View Post
If the returner takes it into the EZ, when the ball has come to rest, he has put it in there and the kick has ended.

Kicks end in only two ways: player possession or dead ball. If the returner is picking up a live ball, then it's still a kick, and momentum will apply.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2010, 10:26am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
K's ball 4th and 5 from the 50. K's punt sails over the head of the returner R22 and comes to a complete stop at R's 3 yardline. R22 races back to get the ball, picks it up and his momentum carries him into his own endzone where he slips and falls down.


Ruling???
CANADIAN RULING:

Safety touch.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scrimmage Kick Play jack015 Football 4 Sat Aug 19, 2006 07:57am
Scrimmage kick play grantsrc Football 3 Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:32pm
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW jack015 Football 18 Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am
and yet another scrimmage kick play James Neil Football 14 Mon Jan 06, 2003 09:02am
Scrimmage Kick Play ABoselli Football 13 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1