![]() |
|
|
|||
If the returner takes it into the EZ, when the ball has come to rest, he has put it in there and the kick has ended. Thus I do not believe that momentum would have an effect. It is a safety...In my opinion, Jim
|
|
|||
Quote:
8-5-2.a EXCEPTION: When ... an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick ... between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession ... the ball belongs to the team in possession at the spot where ... the kick was caught or recovered. The OP specified that the R22's momentum carried him from the R3 into the EZ, and the ball was subsequently declared dead. Thus the play meets all of the criteria specified in the exception, so it's R's ball where R22 recovered the kick (the R3). Notice that whether the ball is at rest is irrelevant to assessing the momentum exception.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Once the loose ball has been possessed, the player carrying the ball into the endzone is the force that has put the ball there. It doesn't matter what the ball was doing before that. Under normal circumstances this would be a safety because the B player carried the ball into the endzone and was downed. It is not a safety due to the momentum exception.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
As for your assumption that it would have normally been a safety, I am confused on how you would reach that assumption. Explain please. |
|
|||
I think he just meant that if the momentum exception did not apply, it would be a safety because the runner carried the ball from the field of play into his own end zone. However the momentum exception does apply so that's the appropriate ruling in this situation.
__________________
I'm not getting older...these high school kids just keep getting younger and younger |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Kicks end in only two ways: player possession or dead ball. If the returner is picking up a live ball, then it's still a kick, and momentum will apply. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Scrimmage Kick Play | jack015 | Football | 4 | Sat Aug 19, 2006 07:57am |
Scrimmage kick play | grantsrc | Football | 3 | Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:32pm |
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW | jack015 | Football | 18 | Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am |
and yet another scrimmage kick play | James Neil | Football | 14 | Mon Jan 06, 2003 09:02am |
Scrimmage Kick Play | ABoselli | Football | 13 | Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:22am |