The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Player going OB

Heres one I am wondering about. A runner fumbles near the sideline. He stumbles and runs out of bounds without the ball. The ball stays inbounds and the runner comes back inbounds and picks ups the ball and starts to run again. I'm sure if he's knocked out of bounds he can come back in and recover the ball. But what if he goes out on his own. This would be for high school and I was wondering about college too.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 11:46pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
If pushed out he has to return immediately

If he goes out on his own he is done for the play, if he participate it is illegal participation.

I believe both codes agree.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 03:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Interesting question, but I believe for NCAA the pushed out and return vs. stays out rule is for elligiblity on a kick/pass.
In this case it is a running play, and I beleive there is no restriction on the player.
As long has he was fully inbounds before he touched the ball. If he was still on the line the ball would obviously become dead.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 03:45pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrye22 View Post
Interesting question, but I believe for NCAA the pushed out and return vs. stays out rule is for elligiblity on a kick/pass.
In this case it is a running play, and I beleive there is no restriction on the player.
As long has he was fully inbounds before he touched the ball. If he was still on the line the ball would obviously become dead.
I don't believe you are correct. Someone PLEASE correct me if I am wrong and he is right. Pretty sure HS and NCAA agree...
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
I try not to get my head too clouded with NCAA and NFL rules during our season because it confuses me.

I know in NFHS, he's done if he goes out. He can't come back in and participate. And picking up the ball, that there is participating for sure.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack View Post
I try not to get my head too clouded with NCAA and NFL rules during our season because it confuses me.

I know in NFHS, he's done if he goes out. He can't come back in and participate. And picking up the ball, that there is participating for sure.

Yes but remember that a player can be both in bounds and out of bounds at the same time. For example, in scrambling for a ball, a player is lying on the ground and his legs are out of bounds and the rest of his body is inbounds. He is out of bounds to the point where if he touches the ball, it also becomes out of bounds, but he is inbounds to the point that he can legally participate and touch the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 06:20am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by newref1 View Post
Heres one I am wondering about. A runner fumbles near the sideline. He stumbles and runs out of bounds without the ball. The ball stays inbounds and the runner comes back inbounds and picks ups the ball and starts to run again. I'm sure if he's knocked out of bounds he can come back in and recover the ball. But what if he goes out on his own. This would be for high school and I was wondering about college too.
CANADIAN RULING:

A player may legally immediately come back into play if s/he was OB for 1 of 4 reasons:
  1. blocked OB
  2. tried to block someone, missed, and subsequently went OB as a result of the block attempt
  3. field conditions (slippery field due to wetness, par example)
  4. stepped OB to field a kick
As far as I can tell, the only element that may apply to your situation, as you described, is #3. That would be a judgment call, and is why we're paid.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Player - NSA Fastpitch Rules (related to other illegal player post) kfrisbee Softball 1 Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:54pm
USC player pushed Kansas player into shooter All_Heart Basketball 23 Tue Dec 05, 2006 03:56pm
Player threatens opposing player TravelinMan Basketball 23 Mon May 31, 2004 12:51pm
Player A steps on Player B 112448 Basketball 9 Wed Jan 16, 2002 03:27pm
What Can The Player DO Now??? Peter Devana Basketball 13 Sun Jan 07, 2001 10:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1