![]() |
|
|||
Here are the requiremenst for PSK from Rule 2.
----------------------------------------------------------- Post-scrimmage kick — a foul by R when the foul occurs: 1. During scrimmage kick plays, other than a try or successful field goal. 2. During a scrimmage kick play in which the ball crosses the expanded neutral zone. 3. Beyond the expanded neutral zone. 4. Before the end of a kick. 5. And K does not have possession of the ball when the down ends and will not be next to put the ball in play. ----------------------------------------------------------- The play meets all the requirements for numbers 1 thru 4. The question is, does this meet the requirements for number 5? There are times when K may be in possession of the ball at the end of the down (i.e. when K "downs" the ball), but aren't entitled to put the ball in play We treat these fouls by R as PSK fouls (and this is honestly when most PSK fouls occur). Why is this play different? K is in possession, but they won't next be putting the ball in play (just as if K had downed the ball). My gut says this is NOT a PSK foul because K's possession did not kill the play but I can't find any rule support where the language makes this clear.
__________________
Mike Sears |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OBR Ruling | Dentonump | Baseball | 11 | Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm |
HELP WITH A RULING | jason181988 | Baseball | 12 | Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm |
ruling? | refTN | Basketball | 3 | Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm |
A Ruling, Please? | JJ | Baseball | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 01:27pm |
need a ruling | coach22 | Baseball | 16 | Sun May 25, 2003 04:23pm |