The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
Team A has a throw in under basket. A1 sticks ball out over the end line and into play. Player B1 ties up the ball with A1 as in a jump ball situation. Is this a jump ball or violation? is there a nfhs rule for this?
look at all the case plays under 7.6.4. defense can grab it if it is held over the plane. beware, however, if B fouls him while trying to take it or grab it it would be an intentional foul….because the player holding ball through the plane is the thrower in...

also, A can't hand the ball in to another A player. that is a violation. rule 9. look at rule 9-2-10 notes for the plane stuff.

Last edited by BigCat; Thu Jan 15, 2015 at 02:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
......also, A can't hand the ball in to another A player. that is a violation. rule 9.
If the throw on the endline was after a made basket (or an awarded basket for goal tending/basket interference), then throw in person can run the endline or pass it to another teammate out of bounds (7-5-7). I assume they could legally hand it to their teammate as well.

If the throw in was a designated spot throw in, then you are correct in that it would be a violation to hand it to another teammate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
If the throw on the endline was after a made basket (or an awarded basket for goal tending/basket interference), then throw in person can run the endline or pass it to another teammate out of bounds (7-5-7). I assume they could legally hand it to their teammate as well.

If the throw in was a designated spot throw in, then you are correct in that it would be a violation to hand it to another teammate.
Thx Doc,

we were talking about breaking the plane so what i meant was A can't hand it through plane to another A. i'll take a lap for that one.. make it clearer next time….
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:25pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
sorry it should be clear...but just to be certain

Held ball on court. Team A has the arrow. During the throw-in (as in the example) another held ball. It seems to be saying that A would still retain possession? Why wouldn't B get the throw-in. Shouldn't A lose the arrow for not completing the throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
sorry it should be clear...but just to be certain

Held ball on court. Team A has the arrow. During the throw-in (as in the example) another held ball. It seems to be saying that A would still retain possession? Why wouldn't B get the throw-in. Shouldn't A lose the arrow for not completing the throw-in?
Which of the criteria set out in the rule book for ending the throw-in and causing the arrow to change do you think were met?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
sorry it should be clear...but just to be certain

Held ball on court. Team A has the arrow. During the throw-in (as in the example) another held ball. It seems to be saying that A would still retain possession? Why wouldn't B get the throw-in. Shouldn't A lose the arrow for not completing the throw-in?
mutant,

you only change the arrow when the throw in ends. ball was never released so don't change the arrow. now--maybe A SHOULD lose the arrow for letting a B grab it…BUT that isn't the rule…thx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
OOB--Where to throw in? stiffler3492 Basketball 5 Sat Jan 15, 2011 01:16pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1