The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 519
Fumble on throw in and free throw

9.2.1B After receiving the ball for a throw-in A1 fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the ball. Violation Question #1: Immediately after fumbling the ball A1 requests and is granted a timeout. Is this correct? (ball was still OOB and A1 did not leave 3' space.) Question #2: A1 has the ball for a free throw and bounces it off his foot into the lane as in 9.1.1 and immediately requests a timeout. Request is denied and a violation is called. Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 02:50pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
#1: No
#2: Yes

5-8-3a, dictating when a team may request a timeout:
The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
#1: No
#2: Yes

5-8-3a, dictating when a team may request a timeout:
The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team.
Agree with #2 but #1 has me confused. If the player fumbles the ball on the throw in wouldn't the 5 second count just continue until reaching the limit or until the player violates by leaving the 3' space? Probably over-thinking this but I don't believe the fumble is a violation, the player stays in the 3' area, so wouldn't the count continue meaning a timeout could be granted? Appreciate your help on this.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 08:35am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Probably over-thinking this but I don't believe the fumble is a violation, the player stays in the 3' area, so wouldn't the count continue meaning a timeout could be granted? Appreciate your help on this.
Having a count continuing is not a requirement for being able to request a TO. Having the ball at one's disposal is. No TO may be granted here.

Remember: the count is not a "possession" count, but rather 5 seconds to release the ball inbounds. Hard to do that without the ball, but since fumbling it away doesn't count as releasing the ball inbounds, you keep counting.

You're correct, if the thrower has possession and then loses the ball, to enforce by the book you must wait for something else to happen. That shouldn't be granting a TO request, however.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Agree with #2 but #1 has me confused. If the player fumbles the ball on the throw in wouldn't the 5 second count just continue until reaching the limit or until the player violates by leaving the 3' space? Probably over-thinking this but I don't believe the fumble is a violation, the player stays in the 3' area, so wouldn't the count continue meaning a timeout could be granted? Appreciate your help on this.
Correct, the fumble does not constitute a violation. If the ball remains out of bounds after the fumble, it is still at the player's disposal (the throw-in has not ended) and a timeout should be allowed.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Correct, the fumble does not constitute a violation. If the ball remains out of bounds after the fumble, it is still at the player's disposal (the throw-in has not ended) and a timeout should be allowed.
1) We know when disposal starts, but I don't think we know when it ends.
2) If the team can request a TO here, why not during the same situation during a FT? I think the rule (ruling) should be consistent.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Correct, the fumble does not constitute a violation. If the ball remains out of bounds after the fumble, it is still at the player's disposal (the throw-in has not ended) and a timeout should be allowed.
Perhaps it is a violation for not throwing the ball directly onto the court, the same as if he/she threw a bounce pass towards a teammate, but the ball bounced on the floor, out of bounds.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
[QUOTE=bob jenkins;872643]1) We know when disposal starts, but I don't think we know when it ends.
2) If the team can request a TO here, why not during the same situation during a FT? I think the rule (ruling) should be consistent.[/QUOTE]

I would say using the same reasoning for allowing a time out when the official places the ball on the floor for the ROP procedure. A team is not even required to have a player out of bounds and they are still entitled to a timeout. In the free throw case, the caseplay specifically says that one is a violation.

5.8.3 SITUATION D:

A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1's throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1's disposal for a throw-in.

RULING: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players.

I would say that after the fumble, the ball is still at A1's disposal.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 12:19pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
A ball on the floor that a player can legally get to, retrieve, and complete a throw-in, is at his disposal. This would apply to both the RPP and the throw-in after a made basket.

A ball on the floor rolling away from a throw-in spot that the player cannot legally leave to retrieve it is NOT at that player's disposal. There's no way for that player legally to complete the throw-in. To insist that the ball is 'at his disposal' is an abuse of language.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
1) We know when disposal starts, but I don't think we know when it ends.
2) If the team can request a TO here, why not during the same situation during a FT? I think the rule (ruling) should be consistent.
I'm looking at 4-42-3 and 4 and it would seem that if the throw-in count starts when the ball is at or put at the disposal of a team and ends when the ball is released on a pass directly into the court then both disposal and count would continue during the fumble thereby allowing the timeout as PG suggested. And I agree with you in (2).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt- throw in, fumble mutantducky Basketball 4 Sat Dec 05, 2009 09:01pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
throw-in fumble by A1 oc Basketball 16 Tue Sep 26, 2006 01:36pm
T During Free Throw brainbrian Basketball 8 Mon Jan 02, 2006 04:26am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1