Thread: Throw In
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 01:52pm
DrPete DrPete is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
If the ball held out over the endline (or sideline) so that the defender did not reach across the out of bounds plane, then it is a held ball and you go to the possession arrow.
HOWEVER, if the throw in was for a held ball/jump ball, the throw in team does not lose the arrow, and you resume with another alternating possession arrow throw in (in this case for the same team)

7.6.4 SITUATION F:
Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 *cannot pull it back.

RULING: A held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.
Reply With Quote