The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw In (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99065-throw.html)

yankeesfan Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:43pm

Throw In
 
Team A has a throw in under basket. A1 sticks ball out over the end line and into play. Player B1 ties up the ball with A1 as in a jump ball situation. Is this a jump ball or violation? is there a nfhs rule for this?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 950474)
Team A has a throw in under basket. A1 sticks ball out over the end line and into play. Player B1 ties up the ball with A1 as in a jump ball situation. Is this a jump ball or violation? is there a nfhs rule for this?


I do not have the Rules Book and Casebook in front of me. But, this is a Held Ball. The ensuing Throw-in is a AP Throw-in. If the original Throw-in was an AP Throw-in then the original (AP) Throw-in did not end and Team A would receive another AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.

DrPete Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:52pm

If the ball held out over the endline (or sideline) so that the defender did not reach across the out of bounds plane, then it is a held ball and you go to the possession arrow.
HOWEVER, if the throw in was for a held ball/jump ball, the throw in team does not lose the arrow, and you resume with another alternating possession arrow throw in (in this case for the same team)

7.6.4 SITUATION F:
Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 *cannot pull it back.

RULING: A held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.

AremRed Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 950474)
Team A has a throw in under basket. A1 sticks ball out over the end line and into play. Player B1 ties up the ball with A1 as in a jump ball situation. Is this a jump ball or violation? is there a nfhs rule for this?

Legal.

7.6.4 SITUATION F:

Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back.

RULING: A held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.

BigCat Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 950474)
Team A has a throw in under basket. A1 sticks ball out over the end line and into play. Player B1 ties up the ball with A1 as in a jump ball situation. Is this a jump ball or violation? is there a nfhs rule for this?

look at all the case plays under 7.6.4. defense can grab it if it is held over the plane. beware, however, if B fouls him while trying to take it or grab it it would be an intentional foul….because the player holding ball through the plane is the thrower in...

also, A can't hand the ball in to another A player. that is a violation. rule 9. look at rule 9-2-10 notes for the plane stuff.

DrPete Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 950481)
......also, A can't hand the ball in to another A player. that is a violation. rule 9.

If the throw on the endline was after a made basket (or an awarded basket for goal tending/basket interference), then throw in person can run the endline or pass it to another teammate out of bounds (7-5-7). I assume they could legally hand it to their teammate as well.

If the throw in was a designated spot throw in, then you are correct in that it would be a violation to hand it to another teammate.

BigCat Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 950485)
If the throw on the endline was after a made basket (or an awarded basket for goal tending/basket interference), then throw in person can run the endline or pass it to another teammate out of bounds (7-5-7). I assume they could legally hand it to their teammate as well.

If the throw in was a designated spot throw in, then you are correct in that it would be a violation to hand it to another teammate.

Thx Doc,

we were talking about breaking the plane so what i meant was A can't hand it through plane to another A. i'll take a lap for that one.. make it clearer next time….

mutantducky Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:25pm

sorry it should be clear...but just to be certain

Held ball on court. Team A has the arrow. During the throw-in (as in the example) another held ball. It seems to be saying that A would still retain possession? Why wouldn't B get the throw-in. Shouldn't A lose the arrow for not completing the throw-in?

so cal lurker Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 950490)
sorry it should be clear...but just to be certain

Held ball on court. Team A has the arrow. During the throw-in (as in the example) another held ball. It seems to be saying that A would still retain possession? Why wouldn't B get the throw-in. Shouldn't A lose the arrow for not completing the throw-in?

Which of the criteria set out in the rule book for ending the throw-in and causing the arrow to change do you think were met?

BigCat Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 950490)
sorry it should be clear...but just to be certain

Held ball on court. Team A has the arrow. During the throw-in (as in the example) another held ball. It seems to be saying that A would still retain possession? Why wouldn't B get the throw-in. Shouldn't A lose the arrow for not completing the throw-in?

mutant,

you only change the arrow when the throw in ends. ball was never released so don't change the arrow. now--maybe A SHOULD lose the arrow for letting a B grab it…BUT that isn't the rule…thx


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1