Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
Team A has a throw in under basket. A1 sticks ball out over the end line and into play. Player B1 ties up the ball with A1 as in a jump ball situation. Is this a jump ball or violation? is there a nfhs rule for this?
|
Legal.
7.6.4 SITUATION F:
Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back.
RULING: A held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.