The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 07:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,531
Six Of One, Half Dozen Of The Other ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Can you describe a play that is BI before the ball touches the rim?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
And another...A1 shoots. The ball is in the cylinder above the rim but has not yet the the rim. B1 touches the ball. Once it enters the cylinder, it is no longer goaltending but BI.
Says who? Certainly not the NFHS.

Goaltending during a FT
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Says who? Certainly not the NFHS.

Goaltending during a FT
Nfhs says during a free throw it is goaltending if it is touched Outside the cylinder....

The other portion of the definition says during a field goal try or tap....
By NFHS definitions, on a free throw, if you wait until the ball is in the cylinder and then touch it before it hits the rim it is BI. A gap in rule. They really should just say if you touch the ball before it hits the rim its a technical.....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Nfhs says during a free throw it is goaltending if it is touched Outside the cylinder....

The other portion of the definition says during a field goal try or tap....
By NFHS definitions, on a free throw, if you wait until the ball is in the cylinder and then touch it before it hits the rim it is BI. A gap in rule. They really should just say if you touch the ball before it hits the rim its a technical.....
Never happened to me but if it does I'm calling goaltending and a T. Portion of ball likely outside cylinder.....or something like that. Also, could fall back on unsporting...

Bob, on the player jumping up and hitting the free throw through net etc I think you could also fall back on unsporting if it wasn't an accident...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
So, in the clip above, the coach/player could have achieved their desired goal if they had waited until the ball entered the cylinder or blocked the FT by reaching through the basket from below. The basket would have been awarded and there would be no T since only GT is penalized with a T on a FT.
Exactly my point. I do get that it would be a pretty rare occurrence.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Never happened to me but if it does I'm calling goaltending and a T. Portion of ball likely outside cylinder.
You have the rule backwards. If any part is in the cylinder, the BI rules (not the GT rules) apply. I do understand that you could probably get away with it and / or fall back on the unsporting aspects
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Exactly my point. I do get that it would be a pretty rare occurrence.



You have the rule backwards. If any part is in the cylinder, the BI rules (not the GT rules) apply. I do understand that you could probably get away with it and / or fall back on the unsporting aspects
Yeah, flippant comment without concentrating….thinking its close enough to call T…thx for correction.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Never happened to me but if it does I'm calling goaltending and a T. Portion of ball likely outside cylinder.....or something like that. Also, could fall back on unsporting...

Bob, on the player jumping up and hitting the free throw through net etc I think you could also fall back on unsporting if it wasn't an accident...
My advice is to call it by the book. You put yourself in danger when you decide to make a call because of your personal opinion or feelings about a situation.

Your supervisor or assignor can always defend you if the call adheres to the rules book. That person has more difficulty backing you if the call hinges upon your opinion of unsporting behavior or the "unfairness" of an action.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2014, 04:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,531
Didn't Have My Morning Beer Yet ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Says who? Certainly not the NFHS.
Sorry Camron Rust. I forgot that it was a free throw.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending Referee24.7 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am
Goaltending or not? ofishe8r Basketball 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm
Goaltending? actuary77 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 29, 2006 04:25pm
Goaltending BamaRef Basketball 5 Wed Nov 17, 2004 08:31am
goaltending Matt S. Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1