The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
Goaltending?

Which of the following (if any) are goaltending situations?

(a) A1 makes a shot. The ball is in its downward motion (but not yet hit the rim) and B1 taps the backboard.

(b) A1 makes a shot. The ball has hit the rim and has not entered the basket, but there is a legitimate chance that it will. B1 taps the backboard.

(c) Same as situation (a) but A2 is the one that hits the backboard.

(d) Same as situation (b) but A2 is the one that hits the backboard.

Note that in all the above situations, neither the ring or net was touched.

Is the call clear cut or is it a judgement situation on whether the tap was hard enough to maybe move the backboard and alter the shot?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
None of these are goaltending....no judgement required. Goaltending always involves touching the ball on its downward flight and before it enters the cylinder.

Contacting the backboard is either a technical foul or it is nothing.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Camron is 100% right.

Furthermore, none of these situations qualify as basket interference!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
actuary77...
Here is Case book play 10.3.5 SITUATION:
A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.
COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so frocefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-7.

This may help you understand the "slapping the backboard" situations you may run into from time to time.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
actuary77...
Here is Case book play 10.3.5 SITUATION:
A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.
COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so frocefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-7.

This may help you understand the "slapping the backboard" situations you may run into from time to time.
I see that this is a direct quote from the book, so I'm not arguing about the authenticity of this ruling. But I'm interested in how the decision is made to charge a T as opposed to BI in item (b). And why is this case play in that section when it doesn't appear to involve the backboard?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 11:31am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I see that this is a direct quote from the book, so I'm not arguing about the authenticity of this ruling. But I'm interested in how the decision is made to charge a T as opposed to BI in item (b). And why is this case play in that section when it doesn't appear to involve the backboard?
(b) is badly written. It should show some reference to where the ball is when the player pulls on the net(as being not on or inside the ring), as well as the reason for pulling on the net.

Think case book play 10.3.4SitB(b) without the possibility of injury.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
actuary77...
Here is Case book play 10.3.5 SITUATION:
A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.
COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so frocefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-7.

This may help you understand the "slapping the backboard" situations you may run into from time to time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I see that this is a direct quote from the book, so I'm not arguing about the authenticity of this ruling. But I'm interested in how the decision is made to charge a T as opposed to BI in item (b). And why is this case play in that section when it doesn't appear to involve the backboard?
Juulie,
Good questions.
1. The case play is in the section on technical fouls because that is the only possible penalty for slapping the backboard.
2. There is not enough information given in part (b). We are not told what the ball did following B1 vibrating the ring. Did it hit it? We are only told that the ball did not enter the goal. The play may or may not constitute basket interference. Here is a better case play to explain the BI part.

9.11.4 SITUATION: Defender B4 attempts to stop an apparent lob pass. While B4 is airborne, A3 moves beneath B4. To avoid injury, B4 grasps the basket ring. While B4 grasps the ring, A1 shoots from about 12 feet away. Just after A1 releases the shot, B4 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when (a) the ball hits the moving ring and bounces out; (b) the ball, despite the moving ring, enters and passes completely through the basket; or (c) the ring stops vibrating (returns to its normal position) and the ball bounces off the ring. RULING: Since B4 grasped the ring to prevent injury, no technical foul is called. However, the basket interference rule applies. In (a), basket interference is called on B4 because the ball struck a still-vibrating ring. Award A1 two points. In (b), since the ball entered and passed completely through the basket, basket interference is not called. Play continues. In (c), because the ring returned to its original position before the ball struck the ring, basket interference is not called. Play continues. (4-6-4; 10-3-5 Exception)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 14
nevadaref: is that a high school casebook?

At the higher levels, that is not going to be a T.
__________________
Jeff Sarratt
College Official
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 06:14am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
None of these are goaltending....no judgement required. Goaltending always involves touching the ball on its downward flight and before it enters the cylinder.
Always? Even by a defender on a free throw?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Always? Even by a defender on a free throw?
You are right.

But, as you know, that has probably never happened and never will.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 03:54pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust

But, as you know, that has probably never happened and never will.
Me being right?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Me being right?
That's not what I meant but if you insist!!!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is it goaltending A copeland Basketball 3 Thu Feb 16, 2006 08:34pm
Goaltending BamaRef Basketball 5 Wed Nov 17, 2004 08:31am
goaltending or not? xxssmen Basketball 6 Fri Apr 16, 2004 09:03am
BI/Goaltending Junker Basketball 21 Wed Apr 07, 2004 06:51pm
goaltending Matt S. Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1