![]() |
|
|
|||
Goaltending during a FT
Its' goaltending (and a T) during a FT to touch the ball when it's outside the cylinder.
So, what if the ball is touched within the cylinder? What if a player reaches through the basket from below and contacts the ball outside the cylinder? By rule, these would seem to be BI, but then why would the penalty be less (no T)? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
BI can occur from just playing the rebound a bit too eagerly before the ball clears the rim. There is no reasonable excuse to accidentally GT a FT. Touching the ball through the basket while the ball is still outside the cylinder should probably be worthy of a T but that is so incredibly rare, far more so than the still rare GT on a FT, I guess it is OK if it falls under BI and only gets a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Unannounced ???
I'm not trying to hijack anything, but the mention of basket interference, and goaltending, in the same thread gives me an opportunity to bring up one of my major NFHS pet peeves:
If you have a situation where a player touches the ball during a field-goal try, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, while the ball is in the cylinder, and the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight, then, by strict interpretation of the written definition, the official can call either a goaltending violation, or a basket interference violation. The definition of goaltending did contain the requirement of the ball having to be outside of the imaginary cylinder through the 2003-04 season. For some unknown reason the rule was edited, without comment, or announcement, for the 2004-05 season and that part of the definition was dropped. 2002-03 NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while: a) the ball is in downward flight. b) the entire ball is above the level of the basket ring. c) the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight. d) the ball is not touching an imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base. 2012-13 NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 07, 2014 at 07:03am. |
|
|||
I agree, once the ball has touched the rim. But, it's possible to BI before that, and, in my mind, should carry the same penalty as GT on a FT.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Whaaaaaaat???
A side bar for this video:
Why did the coach tell his player to goal tend? And, did he notknow this would be a flagrant/DQ situation? And, would any of you whack the coach for telling his pkayer to do it (making a mockery of the game)? I'm not sure if he was upset with the calls or if it was some lame strategy but I can't see any benefit at all for having a player do this.
__________________
Its not enough to know the rules and apply them correctly. You must know how to explain it to others! |
|
|||
Quote:
Once the ball hits the rim, then I agree -- any BI is now a normal play and the 1-point penalty is sufficient. |
|
|||
I guess I see your point Bob, but it seems to me that would be very difficult and rare to do such a thing in the first place. The ball would have to bounce right and the player would have to be in the perfect position.
As discussed in "our" meeting last night, the actions that I showed in this video, the team was doing it as a strategic action. They felt GTing the ball was going to give them a shot to keep the clock stopped and just get the ball back. The coach did not know it was a T and instructed his player to block the ball. In your situation, so much would have to bounce the right way (pun intended) to accomplish that goal (pun intended). Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Can you describe a play that is BI before the ball touches the rim? I am having a hard time thinking of anything.
|
|
|||
Sure. Ball is shot by Player A1. As ball is coming down but before it contacts the rim Player B1 grabs the rim and pulls down. B1 releases the rim and it rebounds into the oncoming ball, knocking the ball away.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
And another...A1 shoots. The ball is in the cylinder above the rim but has not yet the the rim. B1 touches the ball. Once it enters the cylinder, it is no longer goaltending but BI. So, in the clip above, the coach/player could have achieved their desired goal if they had waited until the ball entered the cylinder or blocked the FT by reaching through the basket from below. The basket would have been awarded and there would be no T since only GT is penalized with a T on a FT.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Nov 10, 2014 at 03:36am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Goaltending | Referee24.7 | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am |
Goaltending or not? | ofishe8r | Basketball | 14 | Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm |
Goaltending? | actuary77 | Basketball | 26 | Sun Oct 29, 2006 04:25pm |
Goaltending | BamaRef | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 17, 2004 08:31am |
goaltending | Matt S. | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm |