Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Its' goaltending (and a T) during a FT to touch the ball when it's outside the cylinder.
So, what if the ball is touched within the cylinder? What if a player reaches through the basket from below and contacts the ball outside the cylinder? By rule, these would seem to be BI, but then why would the penalty be less (no T)?
|
My understanding was that if a player was going to goaltend on a FT it was going to be a blatant lane violation typically on purpose. That is why a t is warranted for the goal tend. The BI with a ball bouncing around during a FT would usually be normal play and not warrant a T.